Winthrop University: Financial Aid - Federal Pell Grant
Contact Information
Office of Financial Aid
Sykes House
638 Oakland Avenue
Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA
803/323-2557 (fax)

Types of Financial Aid


Federal Pell Grant

The Federal Pell Grant is awarded to undergraduate students earning their first bachelor's degree who meet the federal government's eligibility formula. To determine eligibility, the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) must be submitted for each school year. The Pell Grant does not have to be repaid.

Begin the process by completing the FAFSA online. Eligibility is determined using a standard formula to produce an Expected Family Contribution (EFC) number based on FAFSA information. Students must have an EFC of 5846 or less to potentially qualify for a Pell Grant. Pell Grant amounts depend on a student's EFC, enrollment status, and length of time attended during the academic year.

Pell Grants range from $673 to $6495 for the 2021-2022 school year.


Hours Enrolled

Percent of Eligibility for Term

12 or more credit hours (full time)    


9 to 11


6 to 8


fewer than 6



Once all award requirements have been met, your financial aid will be credited to your student account. For more information, please visit Applying for Aid.

A student cannot receive a Federal Pell Grant from more than one school for the same period of time.

As a result of federal regulations enacted in the Budget Control Act of 2011 (Public Law 112-25) and the Consolidations Appropriations Act of 2012 (Public Law 112-74), students may receive a Pell award for a maximum of 12 semesters (6 annual awards).

Undergraduate students can continue eligibility in the Pell Grant program as long as they have not earned their first bachelor's degree, received less than 12 semesters of Pell Grant, are maintaining Satisfactory Academic Progress, and continue to meet the standard formula as determined by the FAFSA each year.

Last Updated: 1/25/21