Political Science

Department News

  • Winthrop University's annual Model United Nations Conference will be held March 20-22, 2013. This year's conference theme is Summit of the Americas: Globalization: Peace, Security, and Development.
  • On March 1-2, nearly 80 Political Science faculty members, graduate and undergraduate students from across South Carolina arrived at Winthrop for the 2013 annual meeting of the South Carolina Political Science Association. Drs. Jennifer Disney, Michael Lipscomb, and Adolphus Belk, Jr., all faculty members within the Political Science Department, organized the conference, which featured a keynote address from Dr. Frances Fox Piven.  
  • The Political Science Department and the John C. West Forum were proud to welcome Dr. Frances Fox Piven, who is widely recognized as one of America's most thoughtful and provocative commentators on its social welfare system, to Winthrop. Dr. Piven gave a lecture entitled, "Who's Afraid of Frances Fox Piven? The Professor Glenn Beck Loves to Hate," at 7pm in the Richardson Ballroom of the DiGiorgio Campus Center on February 28.
  • Kambrell Garvin, Political Science major and Student Body President at Winthrop University, gave a State of the Student Body Address on February 28.
  • The results of the February 2013 Winthrop Poll are in and they show the latest approval ratings of national and South Carolina politicians.
  • The John C. West Forum was proud to host the LEAD program, which allowed students enrolled in PLSC 390: Presidential Nominating Conventions to participate in the Democratic National Convention and its pre-convention activities for six days in Charlotte, NC during September 2012. See page 24 of the Spring 2013 issue of Winthrop Magazine for more information.
  • Congratulations to the Political Science majors who were named to the President's List in Fall 2012: Travis Whisenant, Peter Nagovnak, and Emily Longshore!
  • Congratulations to the 18 Political Science majors who were named to the Dean's List in Fall 2012: Sara Abouissa, Christopher Addison, Zachary Becknell, Kevin Carter, Kayla Davis, Kristy Eichorn, Ian Fagan, Aryane Garansi, Andrew Harris, Michael Johnson, Ashley Manning, Summersby Okey, Sarah Pickus, Ken Wesley, Myreon Williams, and Elizabeth Yost!
  • Congratulations to the Political Science majors who were named as 2013 Orientation Leaders: Cody Knight, Jaci Wilkerson, Myreon Williams, and Elizabeth Yost!
  • Two Winthrop University Political Science majors, Mr. Kambrell Garvin and Miss Colleen Rice, were crowned Homecoming King and Queen, respectively, at this year's homecoming event. Please see this announcement for more details.
  • Antjuan Seawright, a Winthrop alum who graduated in 2008 with a BS in Business Administration and Marketing and a minor in Political Science, is running for a seat on the Richland One School Board.
  • Senior Political Science major, Summersby Okey, completed an internship with the Democratic National Campaign Committee during the summer of 2012.

Please check this page regularly for news about the Political Science department and information about Political Science hosted events happening on campus.