Professional Development Team

The Professional Development Team suggests, plans, and implements programs and activities designed to enrich the professional, intellectual, and cultural growth of student affairs staff.  Collectively, this committee recommends the best approaches to develop and enhance the strengths, skills, knowledge, and abilities of the Student Affairs staff. The focus of this team will be to use academic and professional resources in Student Affairs and higher education to develop trainings and/or programs to disseminate to the division. The committee will develop interactive methods to teach and reinforce the professional competencies outlined in the Professional Competency Areas for Student Affairs Educators.

Staff Recognition Team

The Staff Recognition Team provides opportunities to highlight achievements and accomplishments of staff members and departments within the division. The team coordinates the divisional award nominations process, coordinates the submission of nominations to national associations, and recognizes winners. The committee will also be responsible for building and maintaining staff morale.

Strategic Planning Team

The Strategic Planning Team partners with the Vice President for Student Affairs to develop a division-wide strategic plan to include mission, vision, values, strategic goals and strategies which align with The Winthrop Plan. This team partners closely with the Student Affairs Assessment Team on evaluation of data and trends, the drafting of student affairs strategies, and the development of outcomes related metrics.

Student Affairs Assessment Team

The Student Affairs Assessment team assists units to improve student learning, student support, and university services and operations via assessment efforts. This Committee will build awareness of and expertise in division-wide and departmental assessment efforts, evaluate current assessment efforts in order to coordinate and improve data collection and reporting. This team is expected to be knowledgeable about various tools, instruments, data sets, software, and methodologies, to help strengthen Student Affairs staff assessment efforts. Most, but not all members of this committee serve on Winthrop’s Student Support Assessment Committee.