Winthrop University: Academic Space and Scheduling - Important Dates

Important Dates & Faculty Governance Calendar

A workgroup was formed in February 2009 to consider the best possible ways to make use of the newly created common meeting times, to be implemented in fall 2009. Among the group's recommendations were: To establish a predictable annual pattern of university-level committee meeting dates in order to facilitate curricular review and to create and maintain a comprehensive academic calendar online to show committee meetings and important registration dates and accreditation deadlines in one easy-to-access place.

2020 - 2021

  Months  
July 2020 August September
October November December
January February March
April May June

 

 Click Here to View Faculty Governance Meeting Dates by Committee

 

August 2020

August 7, Friday: Last day of B session.

August 12, Wednesday: Last day of D session

August 17-21: President's Welcome Opening Address - VIRTUAL

August 18, Tuesday, 9:00 a.m.: College Opening Faculty Assembly Meetings – Coll. of Arts & Sciences (9:00 a.m. - 11:00 a.m.): VIRTUAL; Coll. of Business Administration (9:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.): VIRTUAL; Coll. of Education (9:00 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.): VIRTUAL

August 18, Tuesday, 9:45 a.m.: International Student Orientation, VIRTUAL

August 19, Wednesday:  Fall Orientation for New Freshmen, VIRTUAL

August 19, Wednesday: Advising & Registration for Transfers - VIRTUAL

August 20, Thursday, 10:00 a.m.: College Opening Faculty Assembly Meeting –  Coll. of Visual & Performing Arts (10:00 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.): VIRTUAL

August 21, Thursday: Advising for New Freshmen; Registration for New Freshmen - VIRTUAL

August 21, Friday, 9:00 a.m. - 10:00 a.m.: New Faculty Orientation

August 21, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Faculty Conference, VIRTUAL

August 24, Friday - Sunday: Welcome Week, VIRTUAL webpage

August 24, Monday, 2:00 p.m.: Convocation – VIRTUAL

August 24, Monday, Morning.: College Assemblies with new students

August 24 - 28, Monday - Friday: Registration continues via Wingspan

August 25, Tuesday, 8:00 a.m.: First day of Fall 2020 classes with VIRTUAL instruction.

August 28, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council (optional) – VIRTUAL

 Back to Top

September 2020

September 2, Wednesday, 8:00 a.m.: Residence Halls open for students

September 3 , Thursday, 11:00 a.m.: University College Opening Faculty Assembly - VIRTUAL

September 4, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: College Faculty Assemblies - CAS: VIRTUAL; CBA: VIRTUAL; COE: VIRTUAL

September 7, Monday: Labor Day - Classes will be held

September 8, Monday: First Day of Classes on-campus instruction.

September 8, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m..: Graduate Council - Thurmond 208

September 11, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: General Education Committee - VIRTUAL

September 18, Friday, 2:00 p.m.:  Committee on University Curriculum - VIRTUAL

September 25, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council – VIRTUAL

September 22, Tuesday, 4:00 p.m.: Educator Preparation Committee meeting - VIRTUAL

Back to Top

October 2020

October 2 , Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Faculty Conference – VIRTUAL

October 2, Friday, 2:00 p.m.:  Graduate Faculty Assembly, VIRTUAL (combined with Faculty Conference)

October 8, Thursday, 5:00 p.m.:  Deadline for faculty to submit Interim grades

October 8, Thursday, 11:00 a.m.: University College Faculty Assembly – VIRTUAL

October 9, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: College Faculty Assemblies - CAS: VIRTUAL; CBA: VIRTUAL; COE: VIRTUAL; CVPA: VIRTUAL

October 21, Wednesday: Advising for Spring 2021 registration begins.

October 23, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Graduate Council meeting - VIRTUAL

October 27, Tuesday, 4:00 p.m.: Educator Preparation Committee - VIRTUAL

October 30, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: General Education Committee - VIRTUAL

Back to Top

November 2020

November 3, Tuesday - Election Day, no classes held, offices open

November 6, Friday: Textbook Adoptions for Spring 2021 term due to Campus Bookstore

November 6, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Committee on University Curriculum - VIRTUAL

November 9, Monday: Early Registration for Spring 2021 begins.

November 13, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council - VIRTUAL

November 20, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Faculty Conference – VIRTUAL

November 20, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Graduate Faculty Assembly - VIRTUAL (combined with Faculty Conference)

November 23, Monday: Remote Learning Day for all in-person and hybrid classes.

November 24 – 29, Tuesday-Sunday: Thanksgiving Break (Offices closed Nov. 25-29)

November 30 - December 3, Monday - Thursday: Classes continue online or remote; no in-person classes after Thanksgiving Break.

Back to Top

December 2020

December 1, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m.: Graduate Council - VIRTUAL

December 3, Thursday: Last day of classes for Fall 2020.

December 3, Thursday: Course withdrawal deadline

December 4, Friday: Study Day.

December 5 - 11, Saturday: Final examinations (no exams on Sunday)

December 8, Tuesday, 4:00 p.m.: Educator Preparation Committee (optional) - VIRTUAL (Finals Week)

December 16, Wednesday, 12:00 p.m.: Graduate degree candidate grades due

December 16, Wednesday: 12:00 p.m. Undergraduate degree candidate grades due

December 17, Thursday, 12:00 p.m.: ALL grades due

December 19, Saturday: 11 a.m., Undergraduate and Graduate Commencement, Winthrop Coliseum

December 21, Monday: 3:00 p.m., grades available on Wingspan.

December 12 - January 10: Holiday Break (Offices closed Dec. 24 - Jan. 3)

Back to Top

January 2021

January 4, Monday: Offices return and open from Holiday Break

January 11, Monday: First day of Spring 2021 classes.

January 11-15, Monday-Friday: Registration continues via Wingspan; Add/Drop period

January 14, Thursday, 11 a.m.: University College Faculty Assembly – VIRTUAL

January 15, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: College Faculty Assemblies - CAS: VIRTUAL; CBA: VIRTUAL; COE: VIRTUAL; CVPA: VIRTUAL

January 18, Monday: Martin Luther King, Jr. holiday. Offices closed; no classes held.

January 22, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Graduate Council - VIRTUAL

January 26, Tuesday, 4:00 p.m.: Educator Preparation Committee - VIRTUAL

January 29, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council - VIRTUAL

January 29, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: General Education Committee - VIRTUAL

Back to Top

February 2021

February 5, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Committee on University Curriculum - VIRTUAL

February 12, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council – VIRTUAL

February 25, Thursday, 5:00 p.m.: Interim grades due from faculty.

February 26, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Faculty Conference - VIRTUAL

February 26, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Graduate Faculty Assembly, VIRTUAL (combined with Faculty Conference)

Back to Top

March 2021

March 2, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m.: University College Faculty Assembly – VIRTUAL

March 2, Tuesday, 4:00 p.m.: Educator Preparation Committee meeting - VIRTUAL

March 5, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: College Faculty Assemblies - CAS: VIRTUAL; CBA: VIRTUAL; COE: VIRTUAL; CVPA: VIRTUAL

March 9, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m.: Graduate Council - VIRTUAL

March 10, Wednesday: Course withdrawal deadline

March 11, Thursday, 11:00 a.m.: General Education Committee - VIRTUAL

March 15 - 19, Monday-Friday: Spring Break (Offices open)

March 24, Wednesday: Registration for Summer 2021 begins.

March 24, Wednesday: Advising for Fall 2021 begins.

March 26, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Committee on University Curriculum - VIRTUAL

Back to Top

April 2021

April 2, Friday: Textbook Adoptions for Summer 2021 term due to Campus Bookstore

April 7, Wednesday: Early Registration for Fall 2021 begins.

April 9, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Academic Council – VIRTUAL

April 20, Tuesday, 11:00 a.m.: Graduate Council - VIRTUAL

April 20, Tuesday, 4:00 p.m.: Educator Preparation Committee (optional) - VIRTUAL

April 23, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Faculty Conference - VIRTUAL

April 23, Friday, 2:00 p.m.: Graduate Faculty Assembly, VIRTUAL(combined with Faculty Conference)

April 26, Monday: Last day of Spring 2021 classes.

April 27, Tuesday: Study Day

April 27, Tuesday: Faculty/Staff/Retirees Awards Ceremony

April 28 - May 4, Wednesday-Tuesday: Final examinations (no exams on Sunday)

April 30, Friday: Textbook Adoptions for Fall 2021 term due to Campus Bookstore

Back to Top

May 2021

May , Wednesday: 9 a.m., Undergraduates check out of residence halls

May 5, Wednesday: 3:00 p.m., Graduate degree grades due.

May 6, Thursday, 9:00 a.m.: Undergraduate degree grades due; 

May 6, Thursday, 7:00 p.m.: Graduate Commencement, Winthrop Coliseum

May 7, Friday, 5 p.m.: ALL grades due.

May 8, Saturday: Undergraduate Commencement, Winthrop Coliseum; 10:00 a.m.: College of Arts and Science and Visual and Performing Arts; 3:00 p.m.: College of Education and College of Business

May 10, Friday, 3:00 p.m.: Grades available on Wingspan.

May 17, Monday: Maymester begins

May 31, Monday: Memorial Day holiday. Offices closed; no classes.

Back to Top

June 2021

June 4, Friday: Maymester ends

June 7, Monday: Summer sessions B and C begin.

Back to Top

July 2021

July 5, Monday: Independence Day holiday.  Offices closed; no classes

July 8, Thursday:  Last day of C session

July 12, Monday: Summer session D begins.

Back to Top

 

Last Updated: 11/18/20