Model UN - Committees
Related Links
Contact Information
Model United Nations
303 Bancroft Hall
Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA
803/323-2568 (fax)

Model United Nations


General Assembly

The General Assembly (GA) of the Winthrop Model UN runs very much like the General Assembly of the United Nations, which is comprised of 192 Member States. The GA is the main body that debates policies and discusses issues that affect all Member States. Winthrop's GA will consist of all states listed on the Country Preference Form that have a college delegate.

Commission on the Status of Women

This new, optional, committee will run like the other "main" committees; high schools submit resolutions before the start of the conference, and the agenda is set by a straw poll vote. The Commission on the Status of Women is a subgroup within ECOSOC-United Nations Economic and Social Council-and is one of the main groups in the United Nations. In this special committee, delegates work to promote gender equality and inclusivity worldwide. CSW is made up of the 45 countries' delegates that are a part of ECOSOC and these representatives meet annually in New York to discuss their nation's standards and policies on women's rights. Currently, one of the main priorities of the committee is continuing the discussion of reproductive rights and the rights to a woman's body. This agenda, however, is not limited to only this, but also encompasses gender equality in the workplace, female empowerment, promoting a more just treatment of women, and the advancement of women globally.

Legal Committee

The Legal Committee at Winthrop's Model UN Conference runs much like the General Assembly. There will be set resolutions, written by high school delegates, to discuss and a straw poll vote will decide which one to talk about first. Each resolution will be discussed until it is voted on or tabled. In the United Nations, the Legal Committee, known as the "Sixth Committee" or GA-6, focuses on aspects of the law at the international level, international terrorism, the administration of justice, and the protection of peacekeepers and diplomats abroad.

Political and Security Committee

Winthrop MUN's "PolSec," is modeled after a combination of the United Nations' General Assembly First and Fourth Committees. These committees deal with subjects pertaining to decolonization, peacekeeping troops, nuclear weapons, disarmament, and matters of war. This committee is essential in keeping international peace and security.

Security Council

Often considered the strong hand of the UN, the Security Council consists of 15 Member States, five of which are Permanent Members and 10 non-permanent members who serve two-year terms on the Council. Each Council member has one vote; but if a Permanent Member (China, France, Russia, the UK, and the US) votes "no," they invoke the "power of veto." "Veto power" is given only to the Permanent Members (P-5) and just one can strike down any resolution to be passed, even if all other Council Members vote "yes."

The Security Council at Winthrop actually writes resolutions, rather than debating pre-written resolutions. This body is given the duty to determine threats against and maintain the peace, recommend action, use military force against aggressors; the Security Council ("SecCo") is the only UN body allowed to take punitive action against a Member State. More details about the workings of the Security Council are available on the Delegates page.

Social and Humanitarian Committee

Sometimes called "SocHum," the Social and Humanitarian Committee is the Third Committee of the UN General Assembly. This body focuses on social problems, humanitarian aid, and human rights issues with help from the Human Rights Council. Issues under the realm of GA-3 are indigenous rights, elimination of racism and discrimination, rights of women, rights of children, refugees, and prisoners of war. A very useful resource for this committee would be the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Special Committee: Asia Cooperation Dialogue 

In this committee, delegates will have a better understanding of the importance of regional cooperation. Consisting of 34 countries, this organization works to identify economic strengths and weaknesses of member states in order to promote Asian prosperity in the global market. The ACD operates to expand the breadth of trade within the international community to increase competitiveness. The committee also focuses on topical issues related to Asia and the progress of the continent as a whole. Potential topics could include the current genocide in Myanmar, tariffs and trade disputes, economic development in Asian nations, denuclearization, India/Pakistan relations, and the likes.


Last Updated: 8/1/19