Winthrop University Foundation

Board of Directors

The Foundation Board of Directors is composed of alumni and friends of Winthrop University. The officers are the President, Vice President, Secretary, and Treasurer. The Executive Director of the Foundation is responsible for the Foundation's daily operations.

The Winthrop University President, Executive Director of the Foundation, Vice President for University Advancement,  Chair of the Board of Trustees, Chair of the Committee on External Engagement and Athletics, and Executive Director of Alumni Relations and Reunion Giving all serve as non-voting ex officio directors. Automatic Directors include the President, President-Elect and Finance Chair of the Winthrop University Alumni Association.


Please see the full list of Board Member Responsibilities.


  • Dr. Andy Wilson - President (Skokie, IL)
  • R. Sylvester Owens '03, '06 - Vice President (Washington, DC)
  • Linda Warner '80 - Treasurer - (Rock Hill, SC)
  • Terry Grayson-Caprio '85 - Secretary (Greer, SC)

Board Members

  • Bob Breakfield (Rock Hill, SC)
  • Chelsea Brown '14 (Baltimore, MD)
  • Claude Close (Fort Mill, SC)
  • Matt Dosch (Fort Mill, SC)
  • Harry Emerson (Rock Hill, SC)
  • Creighton Hayes (Rock Hill, SC)
  • Eric Kleman (Fort Mill, SC)
  • Andy Popenfoose '07 (Roanoke, IN)
  • Dr. Sue Rex (Winnsboro, SC)
  • Chris Tidwell '85 (Canton, MI)

Ex Officio Members - Voting

Ex Officio Members - Non-Voting