Master of Business Administration

MBA Lecture Series

Each semester a distinguished business professional is invited to the Winthrop University campus as the MBA Lecturer.  The lecture, attended by MBA students and faculty, and invited friends of the College of Business and Technology, is held on a class night, and students from all MBA classes attend the event.  The evening begins with a reception.

Usually lasting about an hour, the lecture follows a format of presentation and discussion.  The MBA Lecturer presents topics that are timely and relevant to our MBA students, including leadership, career development, strategic management, the economy, business ethics, and more.

MBA students host the evening activities.

Past Lecture Series Speakers:

Jim Morgan, President and CEO of Krispy Kreme

Jianhua Jordan Zhu, Global Product Line Director, COMMSCOPE, Inc. (alum)

Hillary Davidson, Sustainability Director, Duke Energy

Dr. Steve Agee, CEO of Agee Energy and Dean of the Meinders School of Business at Oklahoma City University

Lamont Young, Sr. VP Digital Sales and Chat, Citizens Financial Group, Boston (alum)

Roy Weathers, Tax Principal, PriceWaterhouseCoopers, NY (alum)

Pat Riley, President of Allen Tate Companies

Jim Justice, President and COO of Justice Family Companies and the Greenbriar Resort

Scott Middleton, Owner, President of Agape Senior

Jim Murphy, VP and Director of Global Marketing, Jack Daniels

Steve McCormick, President and CEO, LALA U.S.

Larry Carroll, President, Carroll Financial Associates

Stephen W. Boocock, Director of Tax Controversy Services (retired), Deloitte Tax LLP

Jan Ivey, Director of Marketing and Corporate Relations, Wachovia Championship

Cece Sutton, Executive Vice President and Head of Retail and Small Business Bank for Wachovia Corporation

Robert Hill, CEO and President, SC Bank and Trust Company (Columbia Headquarters)

Robert Steen Kledal, Senior Vice President, Area Line & Operations Management, North America Maersk Inc.

Abe N. Reichental, CEO and President, 3D Systems

Jeffrey M. Lacker, PhD., President, Federal Reserve Bank of Richmond

James Olson, Current Advisor, Former Senior Vice President, Toyota Motor, NA

David J. Warner, President, Warner Environmental Management, Inc.

Tom Keith, Executive Director, Sisters of Charity Foundation

Bill Boyd, CEO of Muzak

John W. Harris, President, Lincoln Harris Properties

Ben Jenkins, Vice Chairman of First Union Corporation

Robert Hambright, President, JA Jones Construction Company

David Burner, President and CEO, BF Goodrich

Philip A. Kuttner, President, Little and Associates Architects

Juergon Vogt, President, SAI Automotive USA, Incorporated, SAI Automotive AG

Charlene Jackson, Managing Director, Salomon Smith Barney, New York

Joseph Neubauer, Chair and CEO, ARAMARK Corporation, Philadelphia

Will Spence, President, Wachovia Bank South Carolina, Columbia

Kay Cooper, Executive Director of Human Resources, Lance Corporation, Charlotte

Robert Mosier, Executive Vice President, Springs Industries, Fort Mill

Maceo Sloane, NCM Capital (now Sloane Financial Services), Durham

Charles Coker, Chair, Sonoco Products, Hartsville

Hugh McColl, Chair, NationsBank, Charlotte

Ken Iverson, Chair, Nucor Steel, Charlotte