Tuition Policy for Out-of-State Graduate Students

Graduate students qualifying for any of the following exceptions shall pay the same fees as in-state graduate students:

  1. Graduate assistants;
  2. Graduate students holding fellowships;
  3. Graduate students with academic scholarships of $250 or more per semester;
  4. Graduate students participating in the Academic Common Market;
  5. Graduate students from the member counties of the Charlotte Regional Partnership, an economic development organization. 

Winthrop University has been authorized by state law to offer graduate in-state tuition to permanent residents of the member counties of the Charlotte Regional Partnership, up to existing academic capacity. The North Carolina counties are Mecklenburg, Gaston, Alexander, Anson, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cleveland, Iredell, Lincoln, Rowan, Stanly and Union. Potential enrollees who are residents of any of these counties should request further details about this policy from the Winthrop University Graduate Studies Office, 800/411-7041 or 803/323-2204.