In-state Graduate Tuition for Certain N.C. Residents

Winthrop University has been authorized by state law to offer graduate in-state tuition to permanent residents of the twelve North Carolina counties up to existing academic capacity. The North Carolina counties included are Mecklenburg, Gaston, Alexander, Anson, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cleveland, Iredell, Lincoln, Rowan, Stanly, and Union.

As these counties, as well as the South Carolina counties surrounding Winthrop, seek to draw companies and industries into the Charlotte region, collectively they help position the region for sustained growth, including employment and investment opportunities.  

Prospective students who are permanent residents of any of these 12 North Carolina counties should request further details about this policy from the Winthrop University Graduate Studies Office, 803/323-2204 or