Winthrop University: McNair Scholars - Advisory Board

Love Where You’re Going!
Winthrop's Admissions Team is working hard to provide you with options to learn more about Life as an Eagle. Please check our Visit Page to sign up for one of our Virtual Admissions Experiences.

Want a one on one meeting or have any questions? There are three ways you can contact us:
Phone: 803/323-2191
Virtual Chat: Click here to register

For updates, announcements and special messages from Admissions, please follow us on Instagram - @winthropadmissions

McNair Scholars

Advisory Board

2020-21 Members

We are grateful for the time our Board members invest in choosing each cohort, advising Program Staff, and supporting the program. Our current Advisory Board members are listed below along with each member's affiliation.

The Board and Program Staff are grateful for the valuable contributions of faculty who have served on the Board in past years, including Drs. Gloria Jones (Ret., Dean of University College), Brad Witzel (EDUC), Nicki Washington (CSCI), Will Thacker (Ret., CSCI),  Jason Hurlbert (CHEM), Nick Grossoehme (CHEM), Heather Evans-Anderson (BIOL), Joe Rusinko (MATH), Kareema Gray (SCWK), and Shebby Neely-Goodwin (SCWK). Dr. Takita Sumter - Dean, College of Arts and Sciences &  Professor, Chemistry, Physics, & Geology has been a longstanding Board member and is taking leave from the Board this year. 

An eligible student representative (our first year) and outstanding Winthrop McNair Scholars have provided important guidance in recruitment, selection, and program planning as members of the Advisory Board. Those students are listed below.

  • 2020-21  Kiera Alexander
  • 2019-20  Monejah Black
  • 2018-19  James White          
  • 2017-18  Jesslyn Park           
  • 2016-17  Nicole McMullen 
  • 2015-16  Ashley Causey    
  • 2014-15  Sarah Wicks          
  • 2013-14  Symone Calhoun   
  • 2012-13  Ronald Nelson       
  • 2011-12  Macreshia Salters  
  • 2010-11  Alfred McLeod      
  • 2009-10  Lilah Campbell      


Last Updated: 7/15/20