Winthrop University: Graduate School - Charlotte Tuition Assistance
Contact Information
Graduate School
211 Tillman Hall
Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA
800/411-7041 (tollfree)
803/323-2292 (fax)

While Winthrop's campus is closed in compliance with state and national guidelines for COVID-19, our dedicated Admissions team is available to help you. To speak with someone from Admissions, please call 803-323-2191 between the hours of 9am-3pm (Monday-Friday) or email any questions to The health and safety of our staff and students is of the utmost importance so we will do our best to be available for you as long as we can.

Also, please follow us on Instagram for further updates.

In-state Graduate Tuition for Certain N.C. Residents

Winthrop University has been authorized by state law to offer graduate in-state tuition to permanent residents of the twelve North Carolina counties up to existing academic capacity. The North Carolina counties included are Mecklenburg, Gaston, Alexander, Anson, Cabarrus, Catawba, Cleveland, Iredell, Lincoln, Rowan, Stanly, and Union.

As these counties, as well as the South Carolina counties surrounding Winthrop, seek to draw companies and industries into the Charlotte region, collectively they help position the region for sustained growth, including employment and investment opportunities.  

Prospective students who are permanent residents of any of these 12 North Carolina counties should request further details about this policy from the Winthrop University Graduate School Office, 803/323-2204 or

Last Updated: 3/27/20