Staff Awards

Staff Member of the Month

We encourage all employees to submit nominations for Staff Member of the Month! Any staff member (not faculty or administrators) may be nominated for Staff Member of the Month, but in order to win, staff members must hold permanent employee status (not temporary, contract, grant-funded or Foundation) and be employed at Winthrop University for at least 12 months. Nominees and winners are recognized at each Staff Conference. 

Nominate a staff member

2024 Winners:

Paula Garofalo | Office of Admissions
April 2024

Ramona Kundl | Department of Theatre & Dance
March 2024 

Phyllis Redden | DiGiorgio Campus Center
January 2024 

Katie Hartnett | Department of Political Science, Religion & Legal Studies
December 2023  (recognized in 2024)


Past Winners

    Anna Triester | Procurement Services
    October 2023

    Kara Traverse | Records and Registration
    September 2023

    Nancy White | Dacus Library
    July 2023

    Dr. Adria Belk | College of Arts & Sciences Dean's Office
    May 2023

    Martha Ocampo Chaguendo | Facilities Management
    April 2023

    Brian Good | Facilities Management
    March 2023

    Kathie Park | Richard W. Riley College of Education, Sport, and Human Sciences Dean's Office
    January 2023

    Heather Carter | Department of Psychology
    December 2022

    Amanda James | Admissions
    November 2022

    Erica Panton | CAS Dean's Office
    October 2022

    Teri Haddaway | Department of Mathematics
    September 2022

    Taylor Degen | Facilities Management
    August 2022

    Jane Rawls | College of Education, Sport, and Human Sciences
    May/June 2022

    Brandon Braswell | Information Technology
    March 2022

    Richard Parrish | Printing Services
    February 2022

    Ruth Walkup & Shelly Brodict | Center for Student Wellness
    January 2022

    Brantley Therrell | Graduate School
    November/December 2021

    Jill Stuckey | University Communications & Marketing
    October 2021

    Tracy Hildreth | Controller's Office
    September 2021

    Amanda James | Admissions
    August 2021

    Josh Sides | Athletics
    June 2021

    Alexis Roy | College of Arts & Sciences
    May 2021

    Andrew Davis | College of Visual & Performing Arts
    April 2021

    Amy Phillips | Residence Life
    March 2021

    Telisa Simon | Facilities Management
    February 2021

    Jeff Lahr | Athletics
    December 2020

    Elizabeth Moore | Residence Life
    October 2020

    Anna Fredricks | College of Visual & Performing Arts
    August 2020

    Maria Arrington-Ferguson | Computing & Information Technology
    April 2020

    Starr Albert | Admissions
    January 2020 

    Charles Yearta | Winthrop University Police Department
    December 2019

    Amy Phillips | Residence Life
    September 2019

    Tracy Holbert | Human Resources
    August 2019

    Jamie Ray | Communications & Marketing
    May 2019

    Carol Adams | College of Education, Sport, and Human Sciences
    April 2019

    Katie Sardelli | University College
    March 2019

    Pam Gillette | Athletics
    February 2019

    Amanda James | Admissions
    October 2018

    Craig Sauvigne | Computing & Information Technology
    September 2018

    Howard Seidler | Residence Life
    August 2018

    Seth Cooke | Accreditation, Accountability, and Academic Services
    July 2018

    Ginger Crocker | Facilities Management
    May 2018

    Charlene Drummond | Dacus Library
    April 2018

    Donald Davis | Facilities Management
    February 2018

    Daniela Aguilar | Graduate School
    December 2017

    Laura Ramsey | Cashier's Office
    November 2017

    Karen Miller | College of Education, Sport, and Human Sciences
    September 2017

    Willie Aiken | College of Arts & Sciences
    August 2017

    Jerry Fussell | Student Life
    July 2017

    Jessica Martin | Residence Life
    June 2017

    Roberta Daniels | College of Arts & Sciences
    May 2017

    Patricia Boler | Facilities Management
    March 2017

    Carolyn Summers | College of Visual Arts
    January 2017 


Staff Member of the Year

Staff members make invaluable contributions to the university's continued success.  The Staff Member of the Year Award recognizes an employee who exemplifies Winthrop’s core values, goes above and beyond to do great work, and sets an example for other staff members to follow.  The award recipient is selected from the past year's Staff Member of the Month winners.

2023-2024 Staff Member of the Year:
Adria Belk, College of Arts & Sciences

Adria Belk



Past Winners

2022-23 Staff Member of the Year:
Taylor Degen,
Facilities Management

Taylor Degen

2021-22 Staff Member of the Year:
Jill Stuckey,
University Communications and Marketing

Jill Stuckey


2020-21 Staff Member of the Year:
Amy Phillips,
Residence Life

Amy Phillips


2019-20 Staff Member of the Year:
Craig Sauvigne,
Computing & Information Technology

Craig Sauvigne

2018-19 Staff Member of the Year:
Daniela Aguilar
, Graduate School 

Daniela Aguilar

2017-18 Staff Member of the Year:
Warren Byrd,
Computing & Information Technology