Staff Conference

Standing Committees

*This is a friendly reminder that you do not need to be a part of Staff Assembly to be involved in the committees. We highly encourage any staff member to consider joining one of our many committees! By increasing overall participation we ensure that we are better serving the interests of all.

  • Elections & Nominations:  The committee is responsible for conducting elections of Staff Assembly representatives when there is a vacant seat or when Staff Assembly representative seats have expired.

Chair: Dawn Sayer
Committee Members: Halle Thompson, Taylor Degen

  • Media & Communication:  The committee gathers staff news and helps put together the Staff Stuff monthly newsletter.

Co-Chairs: Lee Clark, Casey Smith
Committee Members:  Kara Cauthen, Matthew Haney, Kat Wilson

  • Professional Development:  The committee members initiate staff development opportunities. The group looks at a wide variety of interests among staff members and looks to bring training and informational sessions to staff.

Chair: Suzie Therrell
Committee Members:  Amanda Cavin, Nicole Chisari, Barb Yeager, Brittany Pigford, Cassandra Wright, Tanya Pettus, Amanda Hackney

  • Campus & Community Involvement:  Committee members coordinate social, volunteer, and other activities to provide staff with opportunities to interact outside of their normal job roles. The committee has been able to coordinate opportunities for staff to get involved with Food Truck Fridays in downtown Rock Hill, Food Drives, Pink Out Day, Cookie Exchange, as well as the City of Rock Hill's Come See Me festival in the spring.

Co-Chairs: Chris Johnson, Judy Longshaw
Committee Members:
Kelly Scott, De Wells, Julianne Schrader

  • Recognition:  Committee members increase awareness of the contributions that staff make to Winthrop and this group helps promote the recognition of outstanding staff.  We have nominations submitted to this committee each month for Staff Member of the Month, who wins a Winthrop prize bag filled with goodies - including a parking pass near your building and a free meal in Eagle Eatery.

Chair:  Michael Szeman
Committee Members: Craig Gero, Georgette Bell, Joanna Harris, Miranda Knight, Claire Mooney-Melvin, Katie Price

  • Staff Feedback: The committee is responsible for following up on the questions/concerns that are submitted to staff assembly and are addressed at Staff Conference. The committee will monitor, conduct research and/or collect additional information on an questions/concerns if needed. This committee will keep record of all the questions that are submitted during the Q&A session at Staff Conference and the responses.

Co-Chairs: Leah Simmonds & Julie Schrader
Committee Members:  Craig Gero & Katie Price