Investiture Ceremony

Order of Exercise | Faculty Marshals | Student Marshals

Typically during a president’s first year, an inauguration ceremony is held to symbolize a change of leadership and to provide a chance to mark a significant milestone in the institution’s history.

The investiture, when the symbols of office are officially conferred, will begin at 11 a.m. in the Winthrop Coliseum with a formal procession to include members of the Board of Trustees, faculty, as well as South Carolina and Big South Conference presidents or representatives from those schools.

Legislators, state, city, and York County dignitaries, alumni, and members of the campus and Rock Hill communities are expected to witness Dr. Serna officially receiving the presidential medallion on stage.

The ceremony’s keynote speaker is a former colleague of Dr. Serna’s from the University of Arkansas-Fort Smith. Dr. Paul Beran, who was chancellor of the Arkansas institution, will discuss Dr. Serna’s rise to leadership and his academic philosophy, which Dr. Serna carried out at his first presidency during his time at the University of Maine Farmington.

Dr. Beran is currently interim president at Western Connecticut State University. He has served as executive director and chief executive officer for South Dakota’s six public universities and two special schools. In addition to overseeing the University of Arkansas-Fort Smith, Dr. Beran also served as president of Northwestern Oklahoma State University and its three campuses. He has worked as a senior administrator at community colleges in Massachusetts and Missouri. At the beginning of his career, he was a faculty member at the university and community college level in Texas.

Beran holds a Ph.D. in curriculum and instruction in higher education from Texas A&M University and has completed post-graduate work at the University of Houston. He also has a Master of Arts degree in English and bachelor’s degrees in English and political science, all from Stephen F. Austin State University in Texas.

Order of Exercise


  • Winthrop Faculty Brass Quintet
    • Dr. Elisa Koehler and Dr. Marisa Youngs, Trumpet
    • Dr. Christopher Griffin, Horn
    • Dr. Justin Isenhour, Trombone
    • Derek Fenstermacher, Tuba
  • Winthrop Chorale, Directed by Dr. Elisa Koehler


  • Faculty Brass Quintet


  • Dr. Peter Judge, Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs

National Anthem

  • Ms. Jacin Prevatte, 2023 Presser Scholar


  • Dr. Judge


  • From the Board of Trustees – Mr. Glenn McCall, Chair
  • From Rock Hill – Mr. John Gettys, Mayor
  • From York County – Ms. Christi Cox, Chair of the County Council
  • From the State of South Carolina – The Honorable Wes Climer, Senator

Musical Selection

  • "Arise, Shine!," Forrest
  • Winthrop Chorale and Faculty Brass Quintet, joined by
    • William Thompson, Percussion
    • Taylor Jones, Trombone

University Greetings

  • Alumni – Mr. Byron Putman, President, Winthrop Alumni Association
  • Foundation – Dr. Sue Rex, Secretary, Winthrop Foundation Board
  • Students – Mr. Miguel Caldwell, Chair, Council of Student Leaders
  • Staff – Dr. Debbie Garrick, Chair, Staff Conference
  • Faculty – Dr. Alice McLaine, Chair, Faculty Conference


  • Dr. Paul Beran, Interim President, Western Connecticut State University

Installation of the 12th President of Winthrop University

  • Mr. Glenn McCall and Mrs. Kathy Bigham, Chair and Vice Chair of the Board of Trustees


  • Dr. Edward Serna, 12th President of Winthrop University

Alma Mater

  • Ms. Deja King, accompanied by the Faculty Brass Quintet


  • "Festival Coronation March," Tchaikovsky/Gamble, Faculty Brass Quintet

Faculty Marshals

  • Dr. Shelley Hamill, Chief Faculty Marshal
  • Dr. Tom Polaski, Assistant Chief
  • Dr. Cliff Calloway
  • Dr. Monique Constance-Huggins
  • Dr. Marshal Jones
  • Dr. Will Kiblinger
  • Dr. Mark Lewis
  • Dr. Willis Lewis
  • Dr. Hemant Patwardhan
  • Dr. Tenisha Powell
  • Mr. Seth Rouser
  • Dr. Janet Wojcik

Student Marshals

  • Millie E. Bridwell, Chief
  • Mackenzie Luschkowski, Assistant Chief
  • Skyler Allen
  • Mariana Beltran
  • Savannah Brown
  • Haley Marie Bryant
  • Emily Paige Camp
  • Jayla Elizabeth Council
  • Sera Crookes
  • Adia Davis
  • Erin Dinlocker
  • Noah Emerson Goins
  • Alison Griffin
  • Sarai Etta-Ann Harden
  • Hannah Hastie
  • Madalyn Hodgson
  • Lily Meisten
  • Lauren Norton
  • Julianne Phu
  • Josh Poff
  • Maria Price
  • Elizabeth Claire Ryerson
  • Alyssa Jade Scott
  • Jamal Singleton
  • Amani Townes
  • Arelia Tyson