School Psychology Program

Faculty Members

The Winthrop School Psychology Program has four full-time and one half-time core faculty, all of whom are certified and/or licensed school psychologists active in their profession at local, state, and national levels. Several other faculty in Winthrop's 15-member psychology department also teach courses in the program, and several practicing school psychologists from the community assist with assessment courses and intern supervision. The core faculty are:

Dr. Giancarlo Anselmo ( was raised outside of Detroit, Michigan and moved to the Carolinas to complete his initial graduate training at Winthrop University.  After working in North Carolina as a school psychologist for several years Dr. Anselmo went back to school to earn his doctorate at Indiana University of Pennsylvania.  His specialty areas include curriculum-based measurement, Multi-Tiered Systems of Support (MTSS), using instructional models in the diagnosis of learning disabilities, and social-emotional risk screening.  He teaches courses in curriculum-based measurement and academic intervention, psychological tests and measurement, theories of personality, psychopathology of childhood and adolescents, and he provides trainee and internship supervision.


Dr. Karen Monahan (, a native of western New York, earned her doctoral degree in school psychology from the University of Maryland, College Park. Her specialty areas include school-based mental health services, behavioral/social-emotional programming for school-aged populations and crisis response. Dr. Monahan currently teaches courses on professional issues in school psychology, applied behavior analysis and intervention, psychopathology in childhood and adolescence, and research methods. Previously, as a school district administrator supervising psychological services, she oversaw evaluations/eligibility for special services, led the district’s crisis training and response teams and co-chaired the district’s committee on multi-tiered systems of support. Dr. Monahan is also an active leader with both the National Association of School Psychologists and the SC Association of School Psychologists. 


Mrs. Elizabeth Yegge ( was raised in Bettendorf, Iowa. After many years of traveling due to her husband’s military service, she finally settled in the Charlotte area about fourteen years ago. Mrs. Yegge obtained her Bachelor’s degree in Psychology from Augustana College in Rock Island, Illinois. Upon settling in the Charlotte area, Mrs. Yegge attended Winthrop University’s School Psychology program from 2010-2013. Mrs. Yegge has been a practicing school psychologist since 2013 and has worked in Lancaster County, Union County, and Charlotte Mecklenburg County. She is currently a part-time school psychologist in CMS and enjoys working at the high school level. Mrs. Yegge specializes in psychoeducational assessment, school based mental health services, and counseling. She teaches courses in therapeutic psychology, assessment for intervention, and provides trainee and internship supervision.

Winthrop's school psychology faculty have held important leadership positions and received many honors. Dr. Alderman  has been presidents of the SC Association of School psychologists and been on state and national committees. In addition to her many contributions at the national level, Dr. Reeves has served as president of the National Association of School Psychologists (NASP). Dr. Prus is the recipient of many honors, including the 2015 NASP Lifetime Achievement Award.