Scholarships & Awards

To see the latest lists of Winthrop graduates, Dean's List awardees, and President's List awardees, visit the Lists page.

Visit Student Services for more information about scholarships and awards in the College of Arts & Sciences.

Awards for Graduating Psychology Majors

Outstanding Student Award | Louise Johnson Award | Outstanding Researcher Award | Outstanding Student Commitment Award | Outstanding Scholar Award

For more information, review the guidelines for each of the following awards. 

Outstanding Student Award
This award is given to a student who excels in all areas- research, service, engagement, and scholarship.  This award will go to the most well-rounded candidate.


2021-22: Tanna Morrison

2020-21: Gabrielle McGee

2019-20: Derek Velez and Emma Harris
2018-19: Ta'Niss Robinson
2017-18: Michael Szeman
2016-17 Tollie Schultz
2015-16 Malyn Pope
2014-15 Leah Brown
2013-14 Keisha Carden
2012-13 Vitta Clawson
2011-12 Erin Sim
2010-11 Meagan Burns 
2010-11 Krysten Sobus
2009-10 Lilah Campbell (Also 2010 Tillman Award Winner)
2008-09 Chelli Lowe
2007-08 Justine Rossi


Louise Johnson Award
This award is given to a student who contributes significantly to the department through activities such as peer advising, active service through Psi Chi/Psyc Club, participation on the SOS committee or other leadership/service roles in the department.


2021-22: Thomas Fletcher

2020-21: Victoria Sulak

2019-20: Kiara Brown
2018-19: Jayma Goodwin
2017-18: Douglas Johnson
2016-17 Lindsay Gaynor
2015-16 Sara Tennant
2014-15 Kelsey Doucette
2013-14 Angel DiDomenico
2011-12 Jordan McElroy
2010-11 Brittany Brock 
2009-10 Sara Mallett
2008-09 Lea Queener
2007-08 Brooke Currie

Outstanding Researcher Award
This award is given to a student who is strong in many areas, but demonstrates exceptional research skills (independent work, work with multiple mentors, conference presentations, etc).


2021-22: Lydia Rodriguez

2020-21: Addie Musheff

2019-20: Veronica Worthington
2018-19: Jasmine Goode
2017-18:Stephanie Copeland
2016-17 Claudia Salazar
2015-16 Emily Hokett
2014-15 Holli Ryan
2013-14 Brady Nichols
2012-13 Chauntice Buck
2011-12 Daniel Selvey
2010-11 Amy Rivers 
2009-10 Maria Schmelzer
2008-09 G. Wayne Maury
2007-08 Brooke Walters


Outstanding Student Commitment Award
This award is given to a student who has shown a high level of enthusiasm for their own learning and for the field of psychology.  The selection committee may consider obstacles that the student has overcome when deciding on a winner.


2021-22: Stephanie Bennett & Melanie Palacios

2020-21: Veronica Mackie

2019-20: Hannah Hough and Alannah Visbeck
2018-19: Isabel Delduarte
2017-18:Scott D'Amico
2016-17 Savannah Pewett
2015-16 Tori Horn and Melissa Snodgrass
2014-15 Amber Grant
2013-14 Giulietta Rizzo
2012-13 Brittney Black
2011-12 Jamie Chrisman Low
2010-11 Muri Mata 
2009-10 Jamal Phillips
2008-09 Jennifer Ludwig
2007-08 Brittany Martin


Outstanding Scholar Award
This award is given to the psychology major with the highest overall grade point average who completed at least 65 hours of coursework (i.e.- the majority of their coursework) at Winthrop University.  If more than one student shares the highest GPA, the student with the greatest number of credit hours at Winthrop would receive the award.


2021-22: Allayna Weber

2020-21: Gabrielle McGee

2019-20: Erin Streetman
2018-19: Marissa McNeace
2017-18: Michael Szeman
2016-17 Rachel Broadway
2015-16 Zane Repp
2014-15 Leah Brown
2013-14 Chantel Juitt
2012-13 Katharine Lindberg
2011-12 Jordan McElroy
2010-11 Amy Rivers
2009-10 Aimee West
2008-09 Christine Strople
2007-08 Brooke Currie


2022-23 Awardees: Nastajia Hamilton, Autumn Hennis, Kylie Zangla and Abraham-Staton

2022-23 Awardees: Autumn Hennis, Iassac Abraham-Staton, Kylie Zangla, and Nastajia Hamilton



2021-22 Awardees: Tanna Morrion, Lydia Rodriguez, Thomas Fletcher, Melanie Palacios, and Stephanie Bennett


2019 Award Winners2019-20 Awardees:Veronica Worthington, Alanah Visbeck, Erin Streetman, Emma Harris, Kiara Brown, Derek Velez and Hannah Hough



2018-19 Awardees: Marissa McNeace, Isabel Delduarte, Ta'Niss Robinson, Jasmine Goode, and Jayma Goodwin



2017-18 Awardees: Michael Szeman, Douglas Johnson, and Scott D'Amico (not pictured: Stephanie Copeland)



2016-17 Awardees: Claudia Salazar, Savannah Pewett, Lindsay Gaynor, and Tollie Schultz (not pictured: Rachel Broadway).


 2015 Awardees

  2015-16 Awardees from left to right: Melissa Snodgrass, Tori Horn, Malyn Pope, Emily Hokett, and Sara Tennant


 2014 Awardees

  2014-15 Award Winners from left to right: Leah Brown, Kelsey Doucette, Amber Grant, and Holli Ryan

 2012 Awardees


2012-13 Award Winners from left to Right: Vitta Clawson, Katharine Lindberg, Chauntice Buck, and Brittney Black 



2011-12 Award Winners from left to right: Jamie Low, Erin Sim, and Jordan McElroy


Awards 3


2010-2011 Award Winners from left to right: Brittany Brock, Meagan Burns, Krysten Sobus, Amy Rivers, and Muri Mata 


Awards 2

  2009-2010 Award winners from left to right: Award Winners Lilah Campbell, Maria Schmelzer, Jamal Phillips, Sara Mallett, and Aimee West


Awards 4 
2008-2009 Award Winners from left to right: Chelli Lowe, Jennifer Ludwig, and Lea Queener


2007-2008 Award Winners from left to right: Brooke Walters, Justine Rossi, Brittany Martin, and Brooke Currie


General Guidelines

  • Awards will be given in the Fall of each year.
  • Only seniors who are graduating in December of that semester or the following May will be eligible for nomination.
  • The chair or designee will obtain and distribute to all faculty a list of eligible seniors.
  • Nominations will be made by full-time or adjunct faculty.
  • Except for the Outstanding Scholar Award, which is based on GPA achieved with a minimum of 65 credit hours at Winthrop, individual faculty members nominate seniors for awards each fall. 
  • Awards will be determined with the opportunity for input by all full-time psychology faculty (either by e-mail or in a department meeting).
  • Awards are typically given in December.
  • An individual student will be eligible to win only one award, with the exception of the Outstanding Scholar Award. An individual student may receive the Outstanding Scholar Award and also be selected for a second award.
  • All students who are nominated are notified after decisions are made, whether selected for the award or not. 
  • Awards do not have to be given every year. A specific award will be given only if a deserving student is identified.
  • The department chair will be responsible for notifying award winners and nominees.
  • Award winners will be honored with a personal plaque (to be given to the winner), recognition in the department display case, and recognition at a department meeting.