Winthrop University: Board of Trustees - Resolution Honoring Dr. Leland Cox for Meritorious Service to Winthrop University (06/11/10)
Contact Information
Board of Trustees
114 Tillman Hall
Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA
803/323-3001 (fax)


WHEREAS, Winthrop University with grateful appreciation, does hereby acknowledge, commend and honor the six years of distinguished service of Dr. Leland Cox as a member of the Winthrop University Board of Trustees; and

WHEREAS, since joining the Board, he has demonstrated most clearly all of the academic, administrative, and personal qualities required for exceptional academic leadership; and

WHEREAS, he has freely given of his time and talents to strengthen the essential operations of the University, to further its progress toward reaching its institutional goals and to fulfill its educational mission which has led to the increase of the quality of academic programs and the diversity of the student body; and

WHEREAS, his participation on the Board on a variety of committees including chair of the Committee on Academic Affairs has been characterized by his dedication to excellence and his high level of commitment to education and will long be evident in the achievements of the University; and

WHEREAS, he has employed his community spirit and his resolute commitment to educational advancement; and has worked to ensure that Winthrop University continues its tradition of outstanding service to its students, the Rock Hill community and the State of South Carolina;

THEREFORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED that the Winthrop University Board of Trustees and President DiGiorgio, on behalf of the students, faculty and staff at Winthrop University, and the extended public higher education community, gratefully acknowledge the vigorous advocacy and heartfelt concern that Leland has demonstrated on behalf of higher education in general and Winthrop in particular , and in commending him for outstanding meritorious service, do wish him every success and happiness in all his future endeavors.

June 11, 2010

Last Updated: 3/8/23