WHEREAS pursuant to S.C. Code Ann. §59–125–1, et. seq., the Board of Trustees of Winthrop University is created and established as a body corporate for the purpose of effectuating the educational mission of Winthrop University.

WHEREAS pursuant to Winthrop Board of Trustees Bylaws art. IV(H), the Board of Trustees is empowered to grant emeriti status “upon such persons as the Trustees may deem appropriate,” and upon the President’s positive recommendation.

WHEREAS President Edward A. Serna recommends the below named to be granted emeritus status to the Board of Trustees for such designation,

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that on June 27, 2024, the Winthrop University Board of Trustees hereby appoints the following to emeritus status:

Dr. Dwight Dimaculangan, Professor of Biology Dr. Patrick Owens, Professor of Chemistry

Dr. Dave Pretty, Associate Professor of History Dr. Keith Robbins, Professor of Management Dr. Julian Smith, III, Professor of Biology

FURTHER RESOLVED that the Secretary to the Board of Trustees shall certify that the Winthrop University Board of Trustees approved this resolution on the 27th of June, 2024, in a regular meeting scheduled by the Winthrop University Board of Trustees. Such resolution shall be maintained and publicly posted by the Secretary of the Board in a time and manner as required by law.