WHEREAS, in the summer of 2021, the Board of Trustees established a Presidential Search Committee under the leadership of chair Dr. Julie Fowler and began the search for Winthrop University’s 12th President to be charged with building upon and enhancing Winthrop's record of accomplishment and innovation while leading the University to increasing levels of excellence and service; and     

WHEREAS, the Board sought a visionary leader with strategic perspective, a commitment to preparing students for productive and fulfilling lives, exemplary communication and interpersonal skills, and a collegial and open leadership style; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Trustees felt strongly that the Winthrop community voice be heard and heeded in the search process for such a leader; and

WHEREAS, a Presidential Search Advisory Group was established under the leadership of co-chairs Dr. Gloria Jones and Mr. Peter Moroni and comprised of a diverse mix of members from across Winthrop’s stakeholder groups, including staff, faculty, students, alumni, the Winthrop Foundation, and community leaders; and

WHEREAS, the Presidential Search Advisory Group members gave countless hours and consideration to the task of choosing a strong leader whose personal values would match those of the University and who would make a significant positive difference in the University; and

THEREFORE LET IT BE RESOLVED that the Board of Trustees does hereby convey its abiding respect and profound gratitude to the members of the Presidential Search Advisory Group, and commends them for outstanding meritorious service to Winthrop University.

Presidential Search Advisory Group

Dr. Gloria Jones, Co-chair and Professor Emeritus and Student Advocate, University College
Mr. Peter Moroni, Co- chair and Winthrop Foundation Board Chair
Dr. Sherille Barber, Barber Therapy & Associates, Alumni Executive Board
Ms. Erin Emiroglu, Chair, Council of Student Leaders
Mr. Joel Hamilton, Schiller & Hamilton Law Firm, York County Council
Dr. Joanna Jackson, College of Business Administration
Mr. Martin Jackson, undergraduate student and member of the Student Alumni Council, Roddey-McMillan Record
Dr. Jennifer Jordan, College of Education, Chair of Faculty Conference
Ms. Miranda Knight, Assistant Dean of Students
Mr. John Kroft, Records and Registration Office, Chair of Staff Conference
Mr. Rick Lee, Grey Fox Consulting, SC DHEC Board
Ms. Pricilla Nealy, Photographer, York County Arts Council
Dr. Doug Presley, College of Visual and Performing Arts
Mr. Jim Reno, First Citizens Bank, Rock Hill City Council
Mr. Daniel Ridenhour, Head Coach Men’s Soccer 
Dr. Matt Stern, College of Arts and Sciences
Ms. Nora Webb, graduate student and teacher at York High School
Dr. Kimarie Whetstone, Director of Online Learning
Mr. Mike Whitehead, Center for Intentional Leadership, Winthrop University Foundation
Ms. Chia Yang, undergraduate student and TRIO program tutor

Approved this 8th day of April 2022