Resolution to Confer Emeritus Faculty Status

WHEREAS, Winthrop University has been the benefactor of a combined two hundred and twenty-two total years of dedicated service contributed by the seven faculty members honored by the proposal of emeritus status; and

WHEREAS, Winthrop University recognizes the loyal devotion of these faculty members who have dedicated themselves to teaching Winthrop University students; and

WHEREAS, Winthrop University expresses gratitude for the tireless efforts of these outstanding educators who have demonstrated a professional commitment to Winthrop University and higher learning;

THEREFORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED that the Winthrop University Board of Trustees does hereby recognize the following as having attained emeritus faculty status at Winthrop University with all the rights and privileges bestowed thereunto:

Ms. Patricia I. Ballard, Assistant Professor and Cataloging/Metadata Librarian; Dr. Marsha S. Bollinger, Chair of Interdisciplinary Studies and Professor of Geology; Dr. Debra C. Boyd, Provost Emeritus and Associate Professor of English; Dr. Donald F. Friedman, Professor of German; Dr. Peter J. Judge, Chair of Philosophy & Religious Studies and Professor of Religious Studies; Dr. Jonathon Marx, Professor of Sociology; and Dr. Christopher D. Van Aller, Professor of Political Science.

APPROVED, this 25th day of June 2021