WHEREAS, Winthrop University has been the benefactor of a combined four hundred nine (409) total years of dedicated service contributed by the fifteen faculty members honored by the proposal of emeritus status; and

WHEREAS, Winthrop University recognizes the loyal devotion of these faculty members who have dedicated themselves to teaching Winthrop University students; and

WHEREAS, Winthrop University expresses gratitude for the tireless efforts of these outstanding educators who have demonstrated a professional commitment to Winthrop University and higher learning;

THEREFORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED that the Winthrop University Board of Trustees does hereby recognize the following as having attained emeritus status at Winthrop University with all the rights and privileges bestowed thereunto: Mr. Charles Alvis, Professor of Accounting; Ms. Mary Chamberlain, Instructor of Education; Dr. Clarence Coleman, Professor of Accounting; Dr. Mary Bearden Martin, Professor of Education; Dr. Paula Mitchell, Professor of Biology; Ms. Marge Moody, Professor of Fine Arts; Mr. Phil Moody, Professor of Fine Arts; Dr. Jason Silverman, Professor of History; Ms. Susan Silverman, Professor, Dacus Library; Dr. Jane B. Smith, Professor of English; Dr. J. Marilyn Smith, Professor of Management; Dr. Gary Stone, Professor of Economics; Ms. Gale Y. Teaster, Associate Professor, Dacus Library; Dr. Andrew Vorder Bruegge, Professor of Theatre; and Ms. Annie-Laurie Wheat, Professor of Theatre.

APPROVED, this 22nd day of June 2018