WHEREAS, in the fall of 2014, the Board of Trustees began the search for the Winthrop University's 11th President; and

WHEREAS, the Board appointed an eight-member Search Committee led by Board Chair Kathy Bigham and Co-Chaired by Faculty Representative to the Board, John Bird; and

WHEREAS, the Board sought a visionary leader with strategic perspective, a commitment to preparing students for productive and fulfilling lives, exemplary communication and interpersonal skills, and a collegial and open leadership style; and

WHEREAS, the Board of Trustees felt strongly that the Winthrop community voice be heard and heeded in the search process for such a leader; and

WHEREAS, a President Search Advisory Committee was appointed from the leadership of the students, faculty, staff and administration of Winthrop University; and

WHEREAS, the Committee members gave countless hours and consideration to the task of choosing a strong leader whose personal values would match those of the University and who would make a significant positive difference in the University; and

WHEREAS, with the assistance of the President Search Advisory Committee, in the spring of 2015 the Board of Trustees named Dr. Daniel F. Mahony as the 11th president of Winthrop;

THEREFORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED that the Board of Trustees does hereby convey its abiding respect and profound gratitude to the members of the President Search Advisory Committee, and commends them for outstanding meritorious service to Winthrop University.

President Search Advisory Committee:

Debra Boyd, Acting President, Provost, and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Frank Ardaiolo, Vice President for Student Life
Lisa Cowart, Associate Vice President, Human Resources
Kimberly Faust, Secretary to Board/Chief of Staff
Tom Hickman, Athletic Director
J.P. McKee, Vice President for Finance and Business
Danny Nicholson, Vice President for Institutional Advancement
Jeff Perez, Senior Counsel to the President for Public Affairs
Eduardo Prieto, Vice President for Access and Enrollment Management
Teena Allen, social work, post-traditional student
Chandler Louise Case, political science, women's golf
Michael Chen, biology, men's tennis
Lauren Goodwin, social work, Academic Success Center tutor
Jarvais J. Jackson, elementary education, Council of Student Leaders
Steven Patrick, biology, men's tennis
Denise Peppers, chemistry, TRiO program
Grace Radler, business administration, women's soccer
Abigail Roush, economics, Greek life
Allie Schultheis, business administration, Ambassador
Sara Tennant, psychology, Honors Program
Kenny Wessel, exercise science, Greek life
Sarah Wicks, chemistry, Close Scholar
Niki Behr, Payroll Manager
Rebecca Best, Groundskeeper Supervisor, Facilities Management
T.J. Carney, Associate Director of Technology Services
Maria D'Agostino, Assistant Registrar, Records & Registration
Sharen DuBard, Director of the Eagle Club
Jeanie Faris, Scholarship Coordinator, Financial Aid
Laura Little, Alumni Engagement Coordinator
Kelly McGinnis, Insurance Coordinator/Administrative Specialist II
Grant Scurry, Assistant Dean of Students, Director of the West Center and Rec. Services
Kelly B. Shelton, Housing Specialist, Inn at Winthrop
Jill Simpson, Nurse Practitioner, Center for Student Wellness
Rosanne Wallace, Academic Space and Scheduling Coordinator
Margaret Williamson, Assistant Dean of University College
Pat Ballard, Head of the Monographs & Audiovisual Cataloging Department, Dacus Library
Brent Cagle, Associate Professor of Social Work
Melissa Carsten, Associate Professor of Management
Janice Chism, Professor of Biology & Anthropology; Director, Graduate Studies in Biology
Kathy Davis, Associate Professor of Physical Education
Jennifer Disney, Dep. Chair & Professor of Political Science; Director, Women's Studies Malayka Klimchak, Associate Professor of Management
Michael Lipscomb, Associate Professor of Political Science
Mike Matthews, Associate Professor of Management
Linda Pickett, Associate Professor; M.Ed. in Curriculum & Instruction Coordinator
Michael Williams, Professor of Music
Jack DeRochi, Dean of the Graduate School
Tim Drueke, Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs
Gloria Jones, Dean of University College
Karen Jones, Associate Vice President and SACS Liaison
Mark Herring, Dean of the Library
Karen Kedrowski, Dean of the College of the Arts and Sciences
Jennie Rakestraw, Dean of the Richard W. Riley College of Education
Meg Webber, Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs; Director of GLI
Roger Weikle, Dean of the College of Business Administration
David Wohl, Dean of the College of Visual and Performing Arts

June 19, 2015