WHEREAS, Winthrop University has been the benefactor of a combined total of two hundred forty nine years of dedicated service contributed by the eleven faculty members honored by the proposal of emeritus status; and

WHEREAS, Winthrop University recognizes the loyal devotion of these faculty members who have dedicated themselves to teaching Winthrop University students; and

WHEREAS, Winthrop University expresses gratitude for the tireless efforts of these outstanding educators who have demonstrated a professional commitment to Winthrop University and higher learning;

THEREFORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED that the Winthrop University Board of Trustees does hereby recognize the following as having attained emeritus status at Winthrop University with all the rights and privileges bestowed thereunto: Dr. Carlos Caballero, Assistant Professor of Mathematics; Dr. J. William Click, Professor of Mass Communication; Dr. Rory Cornish, Professor of History; Mr. James Scott Ely, Associate Professor of English (posthumous); Mr. Robert Gorman, Professor of Library Science; Dr. Heakyung Lee, Professor of Mathematics; Dr. Susan Lyman, Associate Professor of Social Work; Dr. Ameda Manetta, Associate Professor of Social Work; Dr. Mesgun Sebhatu, Professor of Physics; Dr. Pravda Stoeva-Popova, Associate Professor of Biology; and Dr. Jonatha Vare, Professor of Education.

May 9, 2014