WHEREAS, Winthrop University has been the benefactor of a combined total of two hundred and twenty-four years of dedicated service contributed by the nine faculty members honored by the proposal of emeritus status; and

WHEREAS, Winthrop University recognizes the loyal devotion of these faculty members who have dedicated themselves to teaching hundreds of Winthrop University students; and

WHEREAS, Winthrop University expresses gratitude for the tireless efforts of these outstanding educators who have demonstrated a professional commitment to Winthrop University and higher learning; 

THEREFORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED that the Winthrop University Board of Trustees does hereby recognize the following as having attained emeritus status at Winthrop University with all the rights and privileges bestowed thereunto:  James G. Bond, Professor of Accounting; Susanna V. Duckworth, Professor of Education; Robert A. Edgerton, Professor of Music; J. Michael Griffin, Associate Professor of Education; Ralph A. Gustafson, Professor of Biology; John S. Reynolds, Professor of Education; Paul O. Sanderfer, Associate Professor of Chemistry and Physical Science; Susan J. Smith-Rex, Professor of Education; and William A. Sullivan, Professor of English.

June 7, 2002