WHEREAS, Winthrop University has been the benefactor of a combined total of  three hundred and thirty-one years of dedicated service contributed by the thirteen faculty members honored by the proposal of emeritus status; and

WHEREAS, Winthrop University recognizes the loyal devotion of these faculty members who have dedicated themselves to teaching hundreds of Winthrop University students; and

WHEREAS, Winthrop University expresses gratitude for the tireless efforts of these outstanding educators who have demonstrated a professional commitment to Winthrop University and higher learning;

THEREFORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED that the Winthrop University Board of Trustees does hereby recognize the following as having attained emeritus status at Winthrop University with all the rights and privileges bestowed thereunto:  Clark B. Archer, Associate Professor of Computer Science; Blair E. Beasley, Professor of Theatre; Maeberta Bobb, Professor of Physical and Special Education; William W. Daniel, Professor of Philosophy and Religion; M. Gerald Fish, Professor of Geography; Kenneth W. Gregg, Associate Professor of Biology; Roy V. Magers, Assistant Professor of Music; John W. Milstead, Associate Professor of Sociology; David L. Rankin, Professor of English; George H. Robinson, Associate Professor of Education; Mary Schweitzer, Professor of Anthropology; Joyce H. Veale-Goodwin, Assistant Professor of Education; and Earl J. Wilcox, Professor of English.

June 8, 2001