Meeting of the Winthrop University Board of Trustees

Friday, April 2, 2021 | 11:15 a.m.
Richardson Ballroom | DiGiorgio Campus Center
Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC


Members present: Kathy Bigham, Randy Imler, Jane LaRoche, President George W. Hynd (ex-officio) (in-person), Ed Driggers, Ashlye Wilkerson, Julie Fowler, Tim Sease, John Brazell, Glenn McCall, Gary Williams, Robby Sisco, Isaiah Venning, Janet Smalley, Tim Hopkins (via Zoom)

Members absent: Sandra Stroman

Representatives present: None

Representatives absent: Brandon Jackson, Adolphus Belk, Jr.

Others present: Media representatives included Alex Zietlow from the Herald, Chase Duncan and Bryn Smith from the Johnsonian, Matt Kreh from WRHI. Ken Halpin, Lisa Cowart, Hank Harrawood, Judy Longshaw, and Kimberly Faust.


The Board of Trustees met on Friday, April 2, 2021 on the campus of Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC.


Call to Order

As the chair was participating via Zoom, Vice Chair Bigham called the meeting to order at 11:26 a.m. She welcomed all present.


Executive Session

Randy Imler moved with a second from Tim Hopkins to move into executive session pursuant to South Carolina Ann. §30-4-70(a)(1) and (2) for the purpose of discussions of personnel issues and legal matters. The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion. Ken Halpin, Lisa Cowart, Hank Harrawood, Kimberly Faust, and Caroline Overcash were invited to remain for the executive session.

Randy Imler moved to end executive session. Jane LaRoche seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous to end executive session.

At the conclusion of executive session, Tim Hopkins made the following motion: We support and endorse the university’s selection of a new men’s basketball head coach who will continue the trajectory of success for our student athletes both on the court and in the classroom. Ed Driggers seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.



Hearing no objections, Vice Chair Bigham adjourned the meeting at 11:48 a.m.


Minutes submitted by Kimberly A. Faust, Secretary to the Board