Meeting of Winthrop University Board of Trustees

Friday, August 14, 2020
Virtual meeting originating in Thompson Conference Room
Tillman Building
Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC


Members present: Glenn McCall, Gary Williams, Kathy Bigham, Ashlye Wilkerson, Robby Sisco, Isaiah Venning, Jane LaRoche, Tim Hopkins, Randy Imler, Ed Driggers, Sandra Stroman, Julie Fowler, Tim Sease, Janet Smalley, Donna Glenn Holley, George Hynd (ex-officio)

Members absent: None

Representatives absent: Adolphus Belk, Jr., Brandon Jackson

Others present: Kimberly Faust, Kirk McSwain, Leigh Crain


The Board of Trustees met on Friday, August 14, 2020 via a virtual meeting originating in the Thompson Conference room on the campus of Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC.


Call to Order

Chair McCall called the meeting to order at 9:00 a.m. He welcomed all present and delivered an invocation. He congratulated Mr. Kirk McSwain on his new job with the City of Charlotte and thanked him for his four years of employment at Winthrop as the assistant to the Chief of Staff and Board of Trustees. Kirk worked closely with Trustees over the years and he will be sorely missed. Chair McCall introduced Leigh Crain as Mr. McSwain’s replacement. Mrs. Crain was most recently the House Manager for the President’s House. Now, Mrs. Crain will combine her duties of House Manager with those of assistant to the Chief of Staff and Board of Trustees.

Trustees expressed their congratulations to Mr. McSwain and their welcome to Mrs. Crain.


Executive Session

Robby Sisco moved with a second from Janet Smalley to move into executive session pursuant to South Carolina Ann. §30-4-70(a)(1) and (2) for the purpose of a discussion of proposed personnel and contractual arrangements. The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion. Kimberly Faust was invited to remain for the executive session.

Gary Williams moved to end executive session with no report. Tim Sease seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous to end executive session.



Hearing no objections, Chair McCall adjourned the meeting at 11:45 a.m.


Minutes submitted by Kimberly A. Faust, Secretary to the Board


Kimberly A. Faust, Secretary to the Board of Trustees


Glenn McCall, Chair, Winthrop Board of Trustees