Minutes of the of the Winthrop University Board of Trustees

Thompson Conference Room | Tillman Building
Winthrop University

June 24, 2018

Members present:Karl Folkens, Glenn McCall, Jane LaRoche, Janet Smalley, Tim Hopkins, Kathy Bigham, Ed Driggers, Randy Imler, Julie Fowler, Ashlye Wilkerson, Donna Glenn Holley, Tim Sease, Dan Mahony, ex officio

Members absent:Sandra Stroman, Don Long, Scott Middleton

Representatives absent:Tadean Page, Student Representative; Michael Lipscomb, Faculty Representative

Others present:Isaiah Venning , Trustee-elect, Robby Sisco, Trustee-elect, Caroline Overcash, Internal Auditor/University Counsel, Kimberly Faust, Secretary to the Board, Debra Boyd, Provost, Lisa Cowart, VP Human Resources, Employee Diversity, and Wellness, Justin Oates, VP Finance and Business Affairs, Jeff Perez, VP University Relations, Karen Jones, Vice Provost for Administration, Accreditation and Accountability, Nicole Chisari, Communications Coordinator

The Board of Trustees met on Sunday, June 24, 2018 on the campus of Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC.

Call to Order

Chair Folkens called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m. He welcomed all present.

Executive Session

Randy Imler moved with a second from Kathy Bigham to move into executive session pursuant to South Carolina Ann. 30-4-70(a)(1) and (2) for the purposes of discussion of employment matters involving certain current university employees and for a discussion of proposed contractual arrangements. The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion. President Mahony, Dr. Faust, Dr. Lipscomb, Messrs. Venning, and Sisco were invited to remain for the executive session.

Donna Holley moved with a second from Janet Smalley to end the executive session and return to public session. The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.

Kathy Bigham moved, with a second from Tim Sease, to rescind the June 22, 2018 approval of a 2.4% increase of 2018-19 tuition and fees pending additional actions related to the State budget appropriations.

The vote was unanimous in favor of the motion.


Hearing no objections, Chair Folkens moved to adjourn the meeting at 7:45 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Kimberly A. Faust, Secretary to the Board