Minutes of the Winthrop University Board of Trustees

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Teleconference originating in the Thompson Conference Room, Tillman Hall

Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC


Members present: Kathy Bigham, Karl Folkens, Glenn McCall, Jane LaRoche, Susan Smith-Rex, Janet Smalley, Tim Hopkins, Tim Sease, Randy Imler, Donna Glenn Holley, Ashlye Wilkerson, Scott Talley, Debra Boyd (ex officio).

Members absent: Don Long, Cindy Van Buren, Scott Middleton

Representatives present: Ian Deas, Student Representative; John Bird, Faculty Representative

Representatives absent: None

Others present: Anna Douglas, The Herald; Adarrell Gadsden, The Johnsonian; Allison Rauch, CN2; Michael Ennis, Winthrop student; Jeff Perez, Alexandra Persson, Judy Longshaw, Kimberly Faust, Winthrop staff.

The Board of Trustees met on Tuesday, November 11, 2014 via teleconference originating in the Thompson Conference room on the campus of Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC.

Call to Order
Chair Bigham called the meeting to order at 1:04 p.m. She welcomed all present.

Executive Session
Karl Folkens moved with a second from Janet Smalley that the Board meet in executive session for the receipt of legal advice pertaining to a former employee. The vote was unanimous. Kimberly Faust, Debra Boyd, John Bird, and Ian Deas were invited to remain for the executive session.

Sue Smith Rex moved the Board end executive session, Randy Imler seconded. The motion passed unanimously by voice vote. No actions were taken in executive session.

Hearing no objections, Kathy Bigham adjourned the meeting at 5:35 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Kimberly Faust, Secretary to the Board