Minutes of the Winthrop University Board of Trustees

Monday, August 25, 2014

Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC

Members present: Kathy Bigham (Chair), Karl Folkens, Jane LaRoche, Susan Smith-Rex, Randy Imler, Donna Glenn Holley, Janet Smalley, Ashlye Wilkerson, Glenn McCall, Tim Hopkins, Don Long, Scott Talley, Tim Sease (via telephone), Cindy Van Buren, Scott Middleton, Acting President Debra Boyd (ex officio)

Members absent: None

Representatives present: Ian Deas, Student Representative; John Bird, Faculty Representative

Representatives absent: None

Others present: Faculty and staff of Winthrop University, Anna Douglas of The Herald, Andrew Kiel of WRHI, Adarrell Gadsden of The Johnsonian, and Carolyn Rennix of the Johnsonian.

The Board of Trustees met on Monday, August 25 on the campus of Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC.

Call to Order
Chair Kathy Bigham called the meeting to order at 1:03 p.m. She thanked all for attending the meeting.

Public Comment

Dr. Gary Stone asked that the Board set another important priority of addressing issues related to faculty salaries for the following reasons:
1. "Faculty salaries at Winthrop have not increased appreciably for some time.
2. Salary compression has reduced the gap between the salaries of senior faculty and those of junior faculty. In some cases there has been salary inversion with the salaries of newer faculty surpassing those of long-serving faculty.
3. In recent years select administrators and coaches have been given significant salary increases while faculty salaries have, for the most part, remain untouched."

Dr. Stone stated that he believes the best student recruitment tool we have is the quality of our faculty. He continued that while the faculty are verbally thanked for their quality at events throughout the academic year, salary-related issues have not been addressed. He urged that to prevent the movement of talented members of our faculty to other alternatives, the Board should address the salary issues. While the faculty understand the budgetary constraints, they also notice when it appears that administrative overhead of the university continues to increase. He concluded by respectfully requesting that the Board set as a high priority a continuing effort to develop strategy for investigating and responding to these salary-related issues and thanked the Board for the opportunity to talk.

Approval of Minutes
Don Long moved to accept the minutes of June 26, 2014 meeting as written. Ashlye Wilkerson seconded. The vote was unanimous.

Executive Session
Karl Folkens moved the Board meet in executive session for discussion of contractual issues related to the next president and to review legal advice relating to pending, threatened, and/or potential claims against the university.

Faculty Representative John Bird, Student Representative Ian Deas, Alexandra Persson, and Acting President, Debra Boyd were invited to stay in executive session. Don Long seconded the motion. As the vote was unanimous, the Board moved into executive session at 1:13 p.m.

Return to Public Session
Upon return to public session, at 2:34 p.m. Karl moved that the Board of Trustees authorize the Board Chair to request the Winthrop University Foundation to fund the search for the 11th President of Winthrop University, including funding the hiring of a presidential search firm. Scott Talley seconded the motion. The vote was unanimous.

Glenn McCall then moved that the Board approve the budget as recommended by the Acting President. Tim Hopkins seconded the vote. The vote unanimously passed.

Chair Kathy Bigham then recognized and welcomed the University Board's newest members, Dr. Cindy Van Buren, Dr. Randy Imler, and Mr. Scott Middleton.

Janet Smalley moved to adjourn the meeting. Jane LaRoche seconded the motion. Hearing no objections, Chair Bigham adjourned the meeting at 2:40 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Alexandra Persson