February 27, 28, March 1, 2009
Olde Stone House
Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC

Minutes of Meeting of the Board of Trustees

Members present:  Kathy Bigham (Chair), Leland Cox, Janet Smalley, Glenda Owens, Sue Smith-Rex, Donna Tinsley, Karl Folkens, Frances Davenport, Jane LaRoche, David Vipperman, Dalton Floyd, Sam Foster, Bob Thompson, Anthony J. DiGiorgio (ex officio).

Members absent:  None

Representatives present:  Cheryl Fortner-Wood, Faculty Representative

Representatives absent:  Tatiana Sosa, Student Representative

Others present:  Kimberly Faust, Rebecca Masters, DeeAnna Brooks, Shawn Cetrone  of The Herald.

The Board of Trustees met on Friday, February 27 through March 1, 2009 on the campus of Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC.

Call to Order

Chair Bigham called the meeting to order at 4:17 p.m. on Friday, February 28. As there were no requests made for public comments, Chair Bigham welcomed the trustees to the retreat by summarizing the agenda and events scheduled for the weekend.

Approval of Minutes of November 5, 2008

Approval of Minutes of November 11, 2008

Approval of Minutes of February 11, 2009

David Vipperman moved, seconded by Lee Cox, the Board approve the three sets minutes as presented.  This motion was approved unanimously by voice vote.

Report of the Executive Committee and Chair of the Board

The Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees met on campus on February 1, 2009.  The Executive Committee reviewed and discussed several matters but took no actions.

Chair Bigham reported the vast majority of the materials reviewed during the Executive Committee meeting have been provided to the Board in the most recent packet of updates.  In addition, many issues discussed will be a part of this weekend's agendas or within the retreat presentations.

The Executive Committee also had an executive session for discussion of legal, personnel, and contractual matters.  No action was taken in the executive session.

Chair Bigham then brought forth a resolution from the Executive Committee to honor Glenda Pittman Owens for meritorious service to the Winthrop Board of Trustees during her eight year tenure on the Board.  As it is a recommendation from a standing committee, no second is required. The resolution passed unanimously.

Academic Affairs Committee chair, Lee Cox brought forward a resolution from his committee to approve the following program.  As it is a recommendation from a standing committee, no second is required.  The resolution to approve a Master of Science in Sport and Fitness Administration was passed unanimously.

Old Business

There was no old business.

New Business

There was no new business.

Chair Bigham then yielded the floor to President DiGiorgio who gave a series of presentations to the Board.  The first presentation was a review of past year focused on how the landscape has changed since the previous Board retreat in February 2008.  Information presented included updates from Student Life, Facilities and Business, Academic Affairs, University Development and Alumni Relations as well as University Advancement and Enrollment Management.

The retreat was recessed at 5:25 p.m. to permit the trustees to attend the Athletic Hall of Fame diner and reception.

On Saturday, February 28, the retreat resumed at 9:08 a.m. at the Olde Stone House.

Executive Session

Karl Folkens moved, seconded by Dalton Floyd, the Board move into executive session for the discussion of personnel, contractual, and legal issues.

The retreat was recessed at 2:48 p.m. to permit the trustees to attend the Homecoming festivities and men's basketball game.

On Sunday, March 1, the retreat resument, continuing in Executive Session, at the Polly Ford conference room of the West Center for the continuing discussion of personnel, contractual, and legal issues.  Lee Cox moved, seconded by Janet Smalley, the Board end the executive session and move back into public session.  The motion passed unanimously.


Hearing no objections, Chair Bigham adjourned the meeting at 2:10 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Kimberly Faust, Secretary to the Board for 2008-09.