Winthrop University Board of Trustees

November 5, 2008
1:00 p.m.
Thompson Conference Room
Tillman Building
Winthrop University


Minutes of Meeting of the Board of Trustees

Members present:  Kathy Bigham (chair), Karl Folkens, Janet Smalley, Glenda Owens,  Frances Davenport, Jane LaRoche, Leland Cox,  Dalton Floyd, Samuel Foster, David Vipperman, Susan Smith-Rex, Donna Tinsley, Robert Thompson, Anthony J. DiGiorgio (ex officio)

Members absent:  None

Representatives present:  Cheryl Fortner-Wood, Faculty Representative

Others present:  Kimberly Faust, Rebecca Masters, Amanda Magshoud, JP McKee


The Board of Trustees met via teleconference on Wednesday, November 05, 2008 for a special meeting called to discuss the status of the state appropriations and Winthrop's budget. 


Call to Order

Chair Bigham called the meeting to order at 1:04 pm.           .

Karl Folkens moved to go into executive session for the discussion of budget items as they pertain to legal, contractual, and personnel issues.  Lee Cox seconded the motion.  Chair Bigham invited Rebecca Masters, JP McKee, Amanda Maghsoud, Cheryl Fortner-Wood, and Kimberly Faust to remain for the Executive Session discussions.

Bob Thompson moved, seconded by Jane LaRoche that the Board move out of Executive Session without any actions taken.  The motion was passed unanimously by voice vote. 



Hearing no objections, Chair Bigham adjourned the meeting at 2:23 pm.

Approved by the Board on February 27, 2009