Winthrop Recognizes Retirees, Longtime Employees and Award Recipients

April 23, 2024


  • During the April 23 Faculty, Staff, Retirees Awards Ceremony, the university honored retirees and those with milestone years of service and for outstanding service.
  • Several faculty and staff members also were recognized with prestigious awards.

ROCK HILL, SOUTH CAROLINA – During Winthrop University’s April 23 Faculty, Staff, Retirees Awards Ceremony, the university honored retirees and those with milestone years of service and for outstanding service.

The retirees are:

John Badke, accounts payable

Dwight Dimaculangan, biology

Rose Guyer, admissions

Clifton Harris, chemistry, physics, geology, and the environment

William Haynes, facilities management

Ann Jordan, English

Jeannie Mann, facilities management

Kimberly Pittman, Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention, and Advancement

Keith Robbins, management and marketing

Grant Scurry, student affairs

Julian Smith III, biology

Marcella Snyder, Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention, and Advancement

Kevin Sullivan, campus police

Winthrop officials also recognized employees who reached their 10-, 20- and 30-year state service milestones. Those employees are:

10 Years
Zach Abernathy, mathematics

Jackie Anthony, student wellness

John Badke, accounts payable

Andrew Besmer, computing and information sciences

Joni Boyd, physical education, sport and human performance

Jackie Concodora, student wellness

Monique Constance-Huggins, social work

Dan Drane, physical education, sport and human performance

Jessica Gladden, University College

Adam Glover, world languages and cultures

Daniel Gordon, theatre and dance

Phillip Hays, Dacus Library

Stephanie Herring, mathematics

David Lindsey, facilities management

Cora Lumpkin, facilities management

Alexa Maddox, records and registration

Jeffrey McEvoy, music

Aimee Meader, mass communication

Claire Mooney-Melvin, athletics

Lori Morris, student wellness

Duane Neff, social work

Stephanie Nielsen, human nutrition

Tracy Patterson, music

Connie Perryman, facilities management

Leigh Poole, International Center

Liz Porter, Macfeat Early Childhood Laboratory School

Scott Shinabargar, world languages and cultures

Hope Williams, accessibility

Kathryn Wilson, business intelligence and data management

Tara Young, admissions

20 Years
Adolphus Belk, political science

Angie Conner, printing services

Lorrie Crochet, music

Gwen Daley, chemistry, physics, geology, and the environment

Jerry Krzemien, facilities management

Kathy Krzemien, facilities management

Robin Lammi, chemistry, physics, geology, and the environment

Darren Ritzer, psychology

Elke Schneider, curriculum and pedagogy

Kamal Shah, computing and information technology

Jill Stuckey, university communications and marketing

Kristi Westover, biology

30 Years
Franca Copeland, computing and information technology

Ben Paxton, athletics

Nancy Vienna, admissions

Other Awards:

Philip Gibson, professor of finance, was honored as the Distinguished Professor, Winthrop’s highest award for faculty members.

Hope Lima, an assistant professor of human nutrition, is the Outstanding Junior Professor recipient.

Kori Bloomquist, an associate professor of social work, is the Jane LaRoche Graduate Faculty Award recipient.

Brent Woodfill, professor of anthropology, was the recipient of the Mary Spann Richardson Award which was created by siblings Rowland P. Alston Jr., William E. Lenoir, Jr. and Victoria Lenoir Saunders ’79 in memory of their mother. The award honors a faculty or staff member for exceptional service, professional excellence and the ability to provide Winthrop with positive visibility throughout the region.

Amanda Hiner, professor and chair of the Department of English, received the Faculty Student Life Award for her broad and deep interactions with student life efforts, and for her contributions to various initiatives that have had a positive impact on students' lives.

Staff Member of the Year was awarded to Adria Belk, director of student services for the College of Arts and Sciences. Nominees came out of the pool of employees who won Staff Member of the Month awarded by Staff Assembly. The award recognizes an employee who exemplifies Winthrop’s core values, goes above and beyond to do great work, and sets an example for other staff members to follow.

The Flight Ready Impact Award, a recognition spotlighting the outstanding contributions of a staff and a faculty member to the Flight Ready Quality Enhancement Plan, was presented to Lee Clark, learning designer with the Office of Online Learning, and Jennifer Schafer, associate professor of biology.

For more information, contact Monica Bennett, director of communications, at 803/323-2236 or e-mail


Button ArrowALL NEWS