Winthrop Honors Retirees, Service Award Recipients and Award Winners at April 25 Ceremony

April 25, 2023


  • During Winthrop University’s April 25 Faculty, Staff, Retirees Awards Ceremony, the university honored retirees and those with milestone years of service and for outstanding service.
  • President Edward Serna '02 presided over his first Faculty/Staff/Retirees Ceremony.

ROCK HILL, SOUTH CAROLINA – During Winthrop University’s April 25 Faculty, Staff, Retirees Awards Ceremony, the university honored retirees and those with milestone years of service and for outstanding service.

The retirees are:

Starr Albert, enrollment management and marketing

Audrey Allan, The James and Susan Rex Institute for Educational Renewal and Partnership

Kelly Browder, Center for Educator Recruitment, Retention, and Advancement

Barbara Burgess, management and marketing

Kimberly Faust, Office of the President

Steven Frankforter, management and marketing

Pam Gillette, athletics

Janet Gray, theatre and dance

Phyllis Hayes, facilities management

Sheila Haynes, facilities management

Albert Helms, facilities management

Michael Hevelow, facilities management

Tim Hill, facilities management

John Holder, political science

Sheryl Jordon, Dacus Library

Jeff Lahr, athletics

Jayne Maas, accounting, finance and economics

Bobby McClure, facilities management

Norma McDuffie, English

Duncan McMaster, Winthrop Post Office

Lou Pantuosco, accounting, finance and economics

Jane Rawls, Richard W. Riley College of Education

Guy Reel, mass communication

Eva Roberts, design

Rosanne Sabisch, health services

Karen Stewart, health services

Rosie Young, facilities management

Winthrop officials also recognized employees who reached their 10-, 20-, 30- and 40-year state service milestones. Those employees are:

10 Years
Adria Belk, College of Arts and Sciences

Brett Best, athletics

Amanda Carlton, student affairs

Nicole Chisari, university communications and marketing

Tara Collins, psychology

JC Cunningham, financial aid

Maria Gelabert, chemistry

Pam Gillette, athletics

Tracy Griggs, management and marketing

Ricky Ramsey, facilities management

Sarah Reiland, psychology

Tracy Holbert, human resources, employee diversity and wellness

Bill Schulte, mass communication

Debbie Siniard, student financial services

Vanessa Valdez, College of Business Administration

Meg Webber, academic affairs

Mary Wilmore, facilities management

Sherri Wilson, College of Arts and Sciences

Dennis Wolfe, facilities management

20 Years
Jetina Brown, health services

Rick Chacon, sociology and anthropology

Jennifer Disney, political science

Chlotia Garrison, College of Business Administration

Janet Graham, Small Business Development Center

Tracy Hildreth, Controllers office

Maria Linn, institutional effectiveness

Wes Love, facilities management

Alice McLaine, physical education, sport and human performance

Ron Parks, music

Pam Purser, facilities management

Guy Reel, mass communication

Tom Riginos, athletics

Kwabena Sankofa-Amammere, counseling services

Catherine Stringfellow, facilities management

Leon Williams, facilities management

30 Years
Lars Larsen, Richard W. Riley College of Education

Ian Pearson, music

Other Awards:

Jane Thomas, professor of marketing, was honored as the Distinguished Professor, Winthrop’s highest award for faculty members.

Jennifer Dixon-McKnight, an assistant professor history, is the Outstanding Junior Professor recipient.

Tracy Griggs, an associate professor of management, is the Jane LaRoche Graduate Faculty Award recipient.

Meg Webber, vice provost and executive director of the Center for Professional Excellence, was the recipient of the Mary Spann Richardson Award which was created by siblings Rowland P. Alston Jr., William E. Lenoir, Jr. and Victoria Lenoir Saunders ’79 in memory of their mother. The award honors a faculty or staff member for exceptional service, professional excellence and the ability to provide Winthrop with positive visibility throughout the region.

Amanda James, director of admissions, earned the Winthrop Award of Excellence, which is a prestigious honor created to recognize individuals who have excelled in implementing significant Winthrop institutional goals. 

Jennifer Dixon-McKnight, an assistant professor of history, received the Faculty Student Affairs Award for her broad and deep interactions with student life efforts, and for her contributions to various initiatives that have had a positive impact on students' lives.

Staff Member of the Year was awarded to Taylor Degen, setup supervisor. Nominees came out of the pool of employees who won Staff Member of the Month awarded by Staff Assembly. The award recognizes an employee who exemplifies Winthrop’s core values, goes above and beyond to do great work, and sets an example for other staff members to follow.

For more information, contact Monica Bennett, director of communications, at 803/323-2236 or e-mail

Button ArrowALL NEWS