Winthrop Honors Retirees, Service Award Recipients and Award Winners at Annual Ceremony

April 26, 2022


  • The annual ceremony celebrates retirees, service award recipients, award winners and more.
  • The ceremony is typically held on Study Day.

ROCK HILL, SOUTH CAROLINA – During Winthrop University’s April 26 Faculty, Staff, Retirees Awards Ceremony, the university honored retirees and those with milestone years of service and for outstanding service.

The retirees are:

Gary Alderman, psychology

Robin Brown, facilities management

Siobhan Brownson, English

Barbara Emery, payroll

Carolyn Grant, Richard W. Riley College of Education

Rhett Herron, facilities management

AJ Jordan, facilities management

Eyvette Long, alumni relations

Jacquelyn Mosely, accounting, finance and economics

Padmini Patwardhan, mass communication

Donald Rakestraw, history

Jennie Rakestraw, Richard W. Riley College of Education

Jannifer Tucker, Dacus Library

Winthrop officials also recognized employees who reached their 10-, 20-, 30- and 40-year state service milestones.

Those employees are:

10 Years
Kristen Abernathy, mathematics
Kinyata Brown, student affairs
Michael Coyle, financial aid
Stacey Davidson, fine arts
Nathaniel Frederick, mass communication
Bryan Ghent, English
Carolyn Grant, Richard W. Riley College of Education
Courtney Guenther, biology
Joanna Harris, student academic services
Amanda Hiner, English
Tracy Holbert, human resources, employee diversity and wellness
Chris Johnson, facilities management
Bry-Anne Jones, counseling services
Melvin Orr, facilities management
Steven Roach, facilities management
Donia Robinson, facilities management
Rosanne Sabisch, health services
De Wells, residence life

20 Years
Monica Bennett, university communications and marketing
Rebecca Berberich, campus police
Chris Childers, postal center
Michael Connolly, computing and information technology
Beth Costner, Richard W. Riley College of Education
Jack DeRochi, university advancement
Debbie Garrick, university advancement
Laura Glasscock, biology
Mike Hevelow, facilities management
Scott Huffmon, political science
Marshall Jones, curriculum and pedagogy
Michael Lipscomb, political science
Jacquelun McFadden, Dacus Library
David Meeler, philosophy and religious studies
Chris O’Neill, music
Richie Parrish, printing services
Brett Redden, athletics
Kelly Richardson, English
Wendy Sellers, social work
Michael Stroud, computing and information technology

30 Years
Tom Polaski, mathematic
J.T. Timmons, residence life
Evelyne Weeks, English
Ellen Wilder-Byrd, university communications and marketing

40 Years
Tim Hill, facilities management

Adolphus Belk Jr., professor of political science, was honored as the Distinguished Professor, Winthrop’s highest award for faculty members.

Claudia O’Steen, an assistant professor of fine arts, is the Outstanding Junior Professor recipient.

Dustin Hoffman, an associate professor of English, is the Jane LaRoche Graduate Faculty Award recipient.

Noreen Gaubatz, executive director of institutional effectiveness, was the recipient of the Mary Spann Richardson Award which was created by siblings Rowland P. Alston Jr., William E. Lenoir, Jr. and Victoria Lenoir Saunders ’79 in memory of their mother. The award honors a faculty or staff member for exceptional service, professional excellence and the ability to provide Winthrop with positive visibility throughout the region.

Bill Schulte, associate professor of mass communication, received the Faculty Student Affairs Award for his broad and deep interactions with student life efforts, and for his contributions to various initiatives that have had a positive impact on students' lives.

Staff Member of the Year was awarded to Jill Stuckey, director of printing and creative services. Nominees came out of the pool of employees who won Staff Member of the Month awarded by Staff Assembly. The award recognizes an employee who exemplifies Winthrop’s core values, goes above and beyond to do great work, and sets an example for other staff members to follow.

Chris Johnson, sustainability coordinator, earned the Winthrop Award of Excellence, which is a prestigious honor created to recognize individuals who have excelled in implementing the Winthrop Plan, the university’s strategic plan. Award selection is based on the individual nominee’s noteworthy contributions to the realization of one or more of the major goals of the Winthrop Plan.

For more information, contact Monica Bennett, director of communications, at 803/323-2236 or e-mail

Button ArrowALL NEWS