Winthrop Honors Retirees and Award Winners At Close of Academic Year

April 25, 2017


  • The retirees honored on April 25 have collectively provided 988 years of service to the state of South Carolina and Winthrop.
  • Winthrop officials also recognized employees who reached their 10-, 20-, 30- and 40-year state service milestones.
  • Four awards, including two new ones, were presented by Winthrop administrators.

McKee Fuller WeikleROCK HILL, SOUTH CAROLINA – During Winthrop University’s April 25 Faculty, Staff, Retirees Awards Ceremony, the university honored retirees and those with milestone years of service and for outstanding service.

The honored retirees listed below have collectively provided 988 years of service to the state of South Carolina and Winthrop. Those retirees are:

Leigh Armistead, psychology
Angelica Attaway, facilities management
John Bird, English
Kathy Boulware, athletics
Patrice Burleson, management and marketing
Cindy Cassens, residence life
Donna Coker, admissions
Ronnie Faulkner, Dacus Library
Jack Frost, athletics
Bobbie Fuller, management and marketing
Susan Gunderson, institutional advancement
Peggy Hager, business administration
Robbie Hampton, records and registration
Cheryl Hingle, University College
Curtis Holder, facilities management
William “Martin” Hughes, music
Ophelia Hunter, controller’s office
Dennis Kennedy, facilities management
Kathy Kinsey, music
Marvin Mackey, facilities management
Carol Marchel, curriculum and pedagogy
Louise Mickle, admissions
Pedro Munoz, world languages and cultures
Dan Murray, athletics
Bill Naufftus, English
Pansy Phillips, counseling, leadership and educational studies
Bob Reid, procurement
Jean Silagyi-Rebovich, accreditation and accountability
Seymour Simmons, fine arts
Janice Smith, cashiers office
Steve Smith, political science
Jennifer Solomon, sociology and anthropology
Tom Stanley, fine arts
Kathe Stanley, visual and performing arts
David Stokes, design
Marty Trader, facilities management
Charles Wallace, facilities management
Roger Weikle, business administration
Michael Williams, music
David Wohl, visual and performing arts
Diane Wright, athletics

Winthrop officials also recognized employees who reached their 10-, 20-, 30- and 40-year state service milestones. Those employees are:

10 Years
Georgette D. Bell, cashiers office
Eric C. Birgbauer, biology
Barbara N. Burgess, management and marketing
Johnathan W. Brabson, athletics
Brent E. Cagle, social work
Jessica A. Cassel, purchasing
Kelly M. Costner, curriculum and pedagogy
Tomoko Deguchi, music
Katherine C. Dykhuis, graduate school
Eugene Ealey, computing and information technology
Michael P. Feimster, admissions
Stephen Gundersheim, theatre and dance
Jean M. Haubert, sociology and anthropology
Jason C. Hurlbert, chemistry, physics and geology
Aimee S. Kline, athletics
Trent C. Kull, mathematics
Victoria E. Mansueti-Uricoechea, world languages and cultures
Matthew C. Manwarren, music
Stephanie L. Mayes, facilities management
Deana F. Morrow, social work
Mark G. Oakes, arts and sciences
Maria C. Paulino, fine arts
Kevin T. Pendley, athletics
Linda H. Pickett, curriculum and pedagogy
Tenisha L. Powell, curriculum and pedagogy
Cynthia O. Reynolds, facilities management
Kristi L. Schoepfer, PE, sport and human performance
Jane E. Starnes, development
Karen M. Stewart, health services
Kara L. Traverse, records and registration
Lillie E. White, facilities management

20 Years
Patrea C. Lathan, human resources
Charlie McDonald, facilities management
Margery A. Moody, fine arts
Donna W. Nelson, psychology
Nancy R. Scurry, accreditation and accountability 
Howard M. Seidler, residence life
Virginia S. Williams, history

30 Years
Charles E. Alvis, accounting, finance and economics
Marsha S. Bollinger, interdisciplinary studies
Mitzi P. Stewart, facilities management
Barry M. Williams, music

40 Years
Barbara K. Fuller, management and marketing
John P. McKee, finance and business
Roger D. Weikle, business administration

Lisa Johnson, associate dean for the Richard W. Riley College of Education, was the recipient of the Mary Spann Richardson Award which was created by siblings Rowland P. Alston Jr., William E. Lenoir, Jr and Victoria Lenoir Saunders ’79 in memory of their mother. The award honors a faculty or staff member for exceptional service, professional excellence and the ability to provide Winthrop with positive visibility throughout the region. 

Nicholas Grossoehme, associate professor of chemistry, received the Faculty Student Life Award for his broad and deep interactions with student life efforts, and for his contributions to various initiatives that have had a positive impact on students' lives.

A new award was created - Staff Member of the Year - and awarded to Warren Byrd, data base administrator for Computing and Information Technology. Nominees came out of the pool of employees who won Staff Member of the Month awarded by Staff Assembly. The award recognizes an employee who exemplifies Winthrop’s core values, goes above and beyond to do great work, and sets an example for other staff members to follow.

President Dan Mahony also honored two employees – Chrissy Catoe, associate director of development, and Wes Love, project manager in facilities management - with the Winthrop Award of Excellence, which is a new prestigious honor created to recognize individuals who have excelled in implementing the Winthrop Plan, the university’s strategic plan. Award selection is based on the individual nominee’s noteworthy contributions to the realization of one or more of the major goals of the Winthrop Plan.

For more information, contact Judy Longshaw, news and media services manager, at 803/323-2404 or

Button ArrowALL NEWS