Winthrop University Diversity Council

The Diversity Council will promote collaboration and communication by bringing together representatives from constituency groups to actualize Winthrop’s diversity goals and objectives. Reporting to the President, the Diversity Council will advise the President and Winthrop leadership on diversity issues and serve the university’s populations by recommending institutional procedures that help achieve the objectives as outlined in the strategic plan. The Council is composed of faculty, staff, and students across academic and administrative units whose responsibilities include:

  • Develop recommendations to promote recruitment and retention of minority faculty, staff, and administrators
  • Develop recommendations to promote and maintain cultural and gender diversity among Winthrop University employees and across positional levels
  • Identify and disseminate best practices around the successful coordination and execution of diversity programs and initiatives across the university
  • Recommend and support programs to foster a culture of inclusiveness throughout the campus community

Members serve for a minimum of two years and are expected to attend and actively participate in meetings, act as liaisons for their units, and monitor the progress on campus diversity initiatives. Serving beyond the two years is permitted and encouraged.



Zan Jones (Chair) – Human Resources, Employee Diversity and Wellness

Adolphus Belk – Political Science (CAS)

Kinyata Brown – Student Affairs

Myles Calvert – Fine Arts (CVPA)

Logan Cocklin – Dacus Library

Mary Fairfull – Student representative (SAGE)

Philip Gibson – Accounting, Finance and Economics (CBA)

Crystal Glover – Curriculum and Pedagogy (CESHS)

Muluken Hass – Student Representative (CSL)

Chris Johnson – Facilities Management (Finance and Business Affairs)

Shardae Johnson-Nelson – Office of Accessibility (Student Affairs)

Joseph Miller – Enrollment Management and Marketing (EMM)

Landon Pitts – Student representative

Tenisha Powell – Curriculum and Pedagogy (CESHS)

Faith Rush – TriO (University College)

Kevin Sheppard – Title IX/ADA Coordinator

Amanda Stewart – University Advancement

Meg Webber – Academic Affairs