Virtual Tour

Winthrop Fountain - 1912


The Winthrop fountain is an iconic symbol of Winthrop’s history and a beloved campus landmark. The fountain has been the backdrop for ceremonies, studying and even marriage proposals. The surrounding benches and shade trees attract students seeking a quiet respite in the heart of the campus. Alumni have fond memories of the fountain, as it has served as the place where many Winthrop traditions have been held over the years, including the Daisy Chain, the Student Government Association president being dunked in the fountain and the Annual Tree Lighting.

According to the Louise Pettus Archives and Special Collections at Winthrop, the original fountain in front of Tillman Hall was installed around 1897 and moved at some point between 1912-1913 to Roddey Courtyard. By the 1950s, it had been replaced by the “boy and fish” fountain. The second fountain served for 100 years, but stopped working in 2018 and was no longer able to be repaired. Determined to carry this space into Winthrop’s future, the Classes of 1970, 1971, 1972, 1973 and 1974 led the way, joining alumni and friends in raising $500,000 to replace the fountain with one built to its original specifications, adding a fountain plaza. The new fountain began flowing in 2023, and the space will be officially dedicated in 2024.