WHEREAS, Winthrop University has been the benefactor of a combined two hundred seventyfive total of years of dedicated service contributed by the ten faculty members honored by the proposal of emeritus status; and

WHEREAS, Winthrop University recognizes the loyal devotion of these faculty members who have dedicated themselves to teaching Winthrop University students; and

WHEREAS, Winthrop University expresses gratitude for the tireless efforts of these outstanding educators who have demonstrated a professional commitment to Winthrop University and higher learning;

THEREFORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED that the Winthrop University Board of Trustees does hereby recognize the following as having attained emeritus status at Winthrop University with all the rights and privileges bestowed thereunto: Dr. Irene Boland, Professor of Geology (posthumous); Dr. Charlie Bowers, Professor of Exercise Science; Dr. Tim Boylan, Professor of Political Science; Dr. Gary Brooks, Professor of Mathematics; Dr. Mark DeWalt, Professor of Education; Dr. Caroline Everington; Mr. Paul Martyka, Associate Professor of Fine Arts (posthumous); Dr. Pedro Muñoz, Professor of Spanish; Dr. William Naufftus, Professor of English; and Ms. Mary Watson, Instructor, Macfeat Early Childhood Laboratory School.

June 10, 2016