WHEREAS, Winthrop University has been the benefactor of a combined total of one hundred and five years of dedicated service contributed by the four faculty members honored by the proposal of emeritus status; and

WHEREAS, Winthrop University recognizes the loyal devotion of these faculty members who have dedicated themselves to teaching Winthrop University students; and

WHEREAS, Winthrop University expresses gratitude for the tireless efforts of these outstanding educators who have demonstrated a professional commitment to Winthrop University and higher learning;

THEREFORE, LET IT BE RESOLVED that the Winthrop University Board of Trustees does hereby recognize the following as having attained emeritus status at Winthrop University with all the rights and privileges bestowed thereunto: Max L. Childers, Jr., Associate Professor of English; James W. Johnston, Professor of Biology; William F. Malambri, Jr., Professor of Music; and Danny W. Turner, Professor of Mathematics.

June 10, 2011