Student Affairs Recognizes Outstanding Student Leaders, Staff

April 25, 2022


  • Ariah Massey, a social work major from Fort Mill, South Carolina, was given the Mary Mildred Sullivan Award. 
  • Jacobe Reid, an educational studies major from Carlisle, South Carolina, was presented the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award.

ROCK HILL, SOUTH CAROLINA – A future social worker and a future teacher captured top honors at the 2022 Winthrop University Student Affairs Awards ceremony on April 20 at the DiGiorgio Campus Center.

Ariah Massey, a social work major from Fort Mill, South Carolina, was given the Mary Mildred Sullivan Award. She has served as a resident assistant, a peer mentor, as a member of National Residence Hall Honorary and Phi Alpha. Inspired by a social worker in her life, Massey said she hopes to have the same positive impact on others. She will return to Winthrop to complete a master’s degree in social work with the goal of working as a school social worker. Schools, she said, are a good place to spot the warning signs of children who need help.

Jacobe Reid, an educational studies major from Carlisle, South Carolina, was presented the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award. At Winthrop the senior has been involved as a resident assistant, as director of educational activities for Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity, with the Call Me MISTER program, as a teaching fellow and as an education committee member with the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP). He also will pursue a graduate degree from Winthrop with the goal of becoming a middle-level math teacher. He has enjoyed his Winthrop experience and is looking forward to having a positive impact on his future students.

Both Sullivan awards are among the highest awards given to graduating seniors by the Division of Student Affairs. Staff members and Shelia Burkhalter, vice president for student affairs, presented the awards during the April 20 ceremony.

Additional awards and recipients were:

The Diversity and Student Engagement Award: Nyssa Hemingway, a senior from Atlanta, Georgia, who is majoring in political science with a minor in international studies. She has been accepted into two law programs and among her goals is to be president of the United States.

Gloria Godfrey Jones Outstanding Tutor Award: Will Douglas, a biology major from Rock Hill who has tutored geology and math at the Academic Success Center. He anticipates getting a master’s degree so he can become a secondary education science teacher.

Cynthia Cassens Resident Assistant of the Year Award: Alex Jensen, a special education major from Wellford, South Carolina, who lives in and helps troubleshoot issues impacting residents at The Courtyard.

Outstanding Student Organization Award: NAACP for partnering with several organizations such as Think College, Call Me MISTER program and Sigma Gamma Rho sorority on programming.

Outstanding Student Program Organization Award: Xi Phi chapter of the Alpha Phi Alpha fraternity. The fraternity sponsored a March 10 event, the Importance of Black Educators, which featured a panel discussion of educators who shared their experiences.

College Panhellenic Council Woman of the Year: Madeline Ballard, a special education major from Chapin, South Carolina.

National Pan-Hellenic Council Man of the Year: Corde Weeks, a political science major from Ridgeville, South Carolina, who served as the NPHC vice president.

National Pan-Hellenic Council Woman of the Year: Delmarie Wilson, a psychology major from Johnsonville, South Carolina.

Interfraternity Council Man of the Year: Chris Boggs, a special education major from Beaufort, South Carolina.

Grant Scurry Dedication Award: Mackenzie McGaha, a mass communications major with a minor in photography from Elgin, South Carolina, who works as a facility supervisor at the West Center.

Exemplary Service by an Individual: Benjamin Neiconi, a sport management major from Rock Hill, South Carolina, and Close Scholar, who has completed more than 250 hours of community service at sporting events, churches, parks and recreation centers.

Wellness Alliance Award: Shayna Foxworth `16, student and young alumni coordinator with the Office of Alumni Relations.

Wellness Advocate Award: Miranda Knight, assistant dean of students, who is an advocate for students who need assistance managing a wide range of academic and personal issues.

Active Bystander Award: Jermarius Evans, a music major from Laurens, South Carolina.

Outstanding Student Employee Award: Jasmine Moyd, a math major from Chester, South Carolina, who works as a student assistant in the Office of the Vice President for Student Affairs.

Graduate Assistant/Associate Rising Star Award: Keianna Goodwin, a counseling and development major from Gaffney, South Carolina, who works in the Division of Student Affairs in the DiGiorgio Student Center.

Fred Angerman Quality Staff Award: Nikki Ford, the operations manager with Health Services, who helped manage campus COVID compliance and student vaccine incentives.

For more information, contact Judy Longshaw, news and media services manager, at 803/323-2404 or

Button ArrowALL NEWS