Winthrop University SACSCOC Steering Committee

The Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs appointed a steering committee to provide oversight of the Fifth-Year Interim Report process. The steering committee is charged with the following:

  • Serving as representatives of their respective constituencies (e.g. college, division, etc.);
  • Reviewing and approving the proposed timeline; and
  • Reviewing and approving the subcommittee reports prior to formal submission to the Provost and President.

The steering committee is composed of the following 15 members:

Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs
Karen C. Jones, Vice Provost for Administration (chair)
Jean Silagyi-Rebovich, Executive Director, Institutional Effectiveness
Noreen Gaubatz, Director of Assessment
Meg Webber, Vice Provost for Academic Quality and Innovation and Director of the Global Learning Initiative 

Faculty Conference
John Bird, Faculty Representative, Board of Trustees, and Chair, Faculty Conference

Staff Conference
F. Grant Scurry, Chair, Staff Conference

Council of Student Leaders
Elisabeth West, Chair of CSL

College of Arts & Sciences
Takita Sumter, Professor, Chemistry

College of Business and Technology
Nicki Washington, Associate Professor, Computer Science

College of Education, Sport, and Human Sciences
Lisa Johnson, Associate Dean and Director, Rex Institute

College of Visual and Performing Arts
Jason Tselentis, Associate Professor, Design

University College
Don Rakestraw, Professor

Library Services
DeAnn Brame, Digital Services and Systems Librarian 

Student Life
Anthony Davis, Assistant Dean of Students

Office of the President
Kimberly Faust, Chief of Staff and Secretary to the Board of Trustees

Winthrop University SACSCOC Fifth-Year Interim Report Subcommittees

Subcommittees organized around components of the Fifth-Year Interim Report will examine recent SACSCOC guidelines for compliance, review documentation from the 2011 reaffirmation, identify needed revisions, and identify appropriate sources of information to make such revisions.  Draft reports authored by subcommittees will be reviewed and edited by an assigned individual prior to submitting them for approval by the Provost and President.

QEP Impact Report Subcommittee
Meg Webber, Vice Provost for Academic Quality and Innovation and Director of the Global Learning Initiative (co-chair)
Gloria G. Jones, Dean, University College (co-chair)
Matthew Hayes, Associate Professor, Psychology

Institutional Summary Form Subcommittee
Karen C. Jones, Vice Provost for Administration

Qualified Personnel Subcommittee
Lisa Cowart, Associate Vice President for Human Resources and Employee Diversity and Wellness (co-chair)
Karen C. Jones, Vice Provost for Administration (co-chair)

Institutional Effectiveness Subcommittee
Beth Costner, Professor and Associate Dean CESHS and Director of Student Services (co-chair)
Andrew Vorder Bruegge, Assistant Dean CVPA, College Graduate Director CVPA, and Director of the Master of Arts in Arts Administration (co-chair)

Educational Programs Subcommittee
Tim Drueke, Assistant Vice President for Curriculum and Program Support (co-chair)
Jack DeRochi, Dean, Graduate School (co-chair)

Student Support Services Subcommittee 
Kimarie Whetstone, Director, Online Learning (co-chair)
Ellin McDonough, Director Center for Career Development and Internships (co-chair)

Policy Subcommittee
Vacant, Internal Auditor/Compliance Officer (co-chair)
Ellen Wilder-Byrd, Associate Vice President for University Communications and Marketing (co-chair)

Physical Facilities Subcommittee
Chris Johnson, Sustainability Coordinator (co-chair)
TJ Hyatt, Coordinator Academic Space & Scheduling (co-chair)

Admissions & Financial Aid Subcommittee
Edwardo Prieto, Vice President for Enrollment Management (co-chair)
Michelle Hare, Director, Financial Aid (co-chair)