Winthrop University: Board of Trustees - 2014_09_17
Contact Information
Board of Trustees
114 Tillman Hall
Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA
803/323-3001 (fax)

We are here to help you!
Winthrop's admissions team is ready and available to help you. If you have any questions, there are three ways you can contact us:
Phone: 803/323-2191
Virtual Chat: Click here to register

For updates, announcements and special messages from Admissions, please follow us on Instagram - @winthropadmissions

Also, please see our FAQs for prospective students and families amid Covid-19.

Special Called Meeting of the Winthrop University Board of Trustees

Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Teleconference originating in the Thomson Conference Room, Tillman Hall

Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC 


Members present: Kathy Bigham, Karl Folkens, Glenn McCall , Jane LaRoche, Susan Smith-Rex, Janet Smalley, Tim Hopkins, Don Long, Tim Sease, Randy Imler, Debra Boyd(ex officio).

Members absent: Donna Glenn Holley, Scott Middleton, Ashlye Wilkerson, Cindy Van Buren, Scott Talley

Representatives present: Ian Deas, Student Representative; John Bird, Faculty Representative

Representatives absent: None

Others present: Anna Douglas, The Herald; Adarrell Gadsen, The Johnsonian; Mikala DuBarr, Andrew Kiel, WRHI; Jeff Perez, Judy Longshaw, Kimberly Faust

The Board of Trustees met via conference call on Wednesday, September 17, 2014. The call originated in the Thompson Conference Room in Tillman Hall on the campus of Winthrop University, Rock Hill, SC.

Call to Order

Chair Bigham called the meeting to order at 5:36 p.m. Janet Smalley moved with a second from Jane LaRoche that the Board meet in executive session pursuant to S.C. Code Ann. 30-4-70(a)(2) for the purpose of the discussion of negotiations incident to proposed contractual arrangements related to the presidential search. The vote was unanimous. Tim Sease moved the Board end executive session, Randy Imler seconded. The motion passed unanimously by voice vote. No actions were taken in executive session.

Sue Smith Rex moved to retain R. William Funk and Associates as the consultant in the search for the 11th president of Winthrop University. The motion was seconded by Karl Folkens. The vote was unanimous.

Tim Hopkins moved to adjourn the meeting with a second from Karl Folkens. The vote was unanimous. The meeting was adjourned at 6:45 p.m.

Minutes submitted by Kimberly Faust, Secretary to the Board

Last Updated: 5/19/20