Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header
Office of the President
114 Tillman Hall
Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA
803/323-3001 (fax)



Faculty & Staff

April 21, 2017

Dear Colleagues:

During the spring commencement ceremonies, Winthrop confers awards on faculty members who have demonstrated exceptional service to the institution and a dedication to student learning.

The LaRoche Graduate Faculty Award is given to a faculty member who holds the rank of associate or full professor, has a record of outstanding teaching at the graduate level, and has made a significant contribution to the quality of graduate education at the University. Please join me now and on May 4 at the Graduate Commencement ceremony in congratulating Dr. Siobhan Brownson, associate professor of English, as the recipient of the 2017 LaRoche Graduate Faculty Award.

The Outstanding Junior Professor Award is given to an assistant professor who has demonstrated a commitment to inspired teaching, creative scholarship, and dedicated service to students. Dr. Adam Glover, assistant professor of Spanish, is to be congratulated as the 2017 Outstanding Junior Professor.

The Distinguished Professor Award is the highest honor Winthrop can bestow upon a faculty member. It is presented in recognition of exceptional skills in teaching, significant research or creative effort, high standing among professional colleagues, and service to the university and community. It is my pleasure to announce Dr. John Bird, professor of English, as the 2017 Distinguished Professor.

The Distinguished Professor and Outstanding Junior Professor will be publicly acknowledged at the first of the two May 6 Undergraduate Commencement ceremonies.

Below is a press release that will go out to our larger Winthrop community shortly. Please join me now and at graduation in thanking these faculty for their extraordinary contributions to Winthrop University. 

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211