Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header
Office of the President
114 Tillman Hall
Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA
803/323-3001 (fax)



Faculty & Staff

Feb. 7, 2017

Dear Colleagues:

You might recall I asked a group of faculty and staff members to convene a committee to review the presidential citations presented during the Faculty, Staff and Retirees Awards Ceremony.

I’d like to thank the following individuals for their time and insight:

LeeAnn Pounds, Chair
Monica Bennett
Keith Benson
Chrissy Catoe
Beth Costner
Will Kiblinger
Wes Love
Alicia Marstall
Neal Miller
Renae Myles
Janelle Sealy

In previous years the criteria for awarding the presidential citations had varied, as had the number of nominations received. One year a large number of nominations would be received; the next year just a handful. In addition, the criteria used for determining who would receive the citations were vague and appeared to vary from year to year.

The committee reviewed the matter and recommended that the citations be discontinued and replaced by a new “Winthrop Award of Excellence.” In its report the committee stated “This new award will create a special, meaningful award that is only given out to individuals who set themselves apart, beyond performing normal job responsibilities, and lead by example, implementing Winthrop’s Strategic Plan.”

The committee also felt that “an award for public service was no longer needed as this component is incorporated within the goals of the strategic plan, and thereby could be a basis for the Winthrop Award of Excellence.”

I’ve accepted these findings and directed that they be integrated into this year’s ceremony. You will be receiving a follow-up email from, Lisa Cowart, vice president of Human Resources, Employee Diversity and Wellness, which will include a new nomination form for the Winthrop Award of Excellence.

I look forward to seeing you on campus.

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211