Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header


Winthrop Board Re-elects Karl Folkens as Chair

Quick Facts

 Winthrop's Board of Trustees has elected Florence attorney Karl Folkens as chair.
 The board chose Kathy Bigham as vice chair and Donna Tinsley as secretary.

Karl Folkens

ROCK HILL, S.C. - Winthrop Board of Trustee members elected Florence attorney Karl Folkens to a one-year term as board chair during their June 9 meeting. Two other board officers also were elected, Kathy Bigham of Rock Hill as vice chair and Donna Tinsley of Columbia, S.C., as secretary.

Folkens is a 1978 graduate of Winthrop, while Bigham, who is president of Thursdays Too restaurant in Rock Hill, is a 1973 graduate. Tinsley has worked for the S.C. House of Representatives, Education and Public Works Committee since January 1981.

The board also conferred emeritus status to 15 faculty members who are retiring and have a combined total of 474 years of dedicated service. They are: Eugene Barban, professor of music; Bob Breakfield, professor of taxation and business law; Houston Craighead, professor of philosophy and religious studies; John Dille, professor of biology; Melvin Goldstein, professor of psychology; Jerry Helton, professor of music; Martin Hope, professor of social work; Betty Lou Land, professor of reading education; Louis Rosso, professor of speech; Everett Stallings, associate professor of elementary education; Sarah Stallings, professor of human nutrition; Jack Tucker, professor of sociology; Alfred Ward, professor of art; Edna Ward, professor of business communication; and Melford Wilson, professor of political science.

[Back to Previous Page]

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211