Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header


Members Elect Officers for Board of Trustees

Quick Facts

 Kathy Bigham was elected chairman, Dalton Floyd as vice chair and Frances Davenport as secretary.
 Board members conferred emeritus status to eight faculty members who recently retired with a combined total of 210 years of service.

Kathy Bigham

ROCK HILL, S.C. - Winthrop Board of Trustee members re-elected Rock Hill resident Kathy Bigham to a one-year term as board chair during their June 5 meeting. Two other board officers were elected: Surfside Beach attorney Dalton Floyd as vice chair and Clinton resident Frances Davenport as secretary.

Bigham, who recently retired as president of Thursdays Too restaurant in Rock Hill, is a 1973 Winthrop graduate. She has served on numerous local committees, including the Winthrop Eagle Club, and on local and national political committees.

Floyd of Floyd Law Firm is a former chairman of the S.C. Commission on Higher Education. He joined the board in 2007 as an appointee by Gov. Mark Sanford. He was recently elected by the General Assembly to a six-year term on the Winthrop board representing one of two at-large seats. Davenport is 1959 graduate and retired teacher who represents the Alumni Association on the board. A board member since 2006, this is her first term as an officer.

In addition, the board conferred emeritus status to eight faculty members who recently retired with a combined total of 210 years of dedicated service. Retiring faculty members with 10 years or more of service are eligible for the honor.

They are: William W. Grigsby, associate professor of accounting; Richard C. Ingram, associate professor of education (reading); Gloria A. Kelley, professor and head of Dacus Library Technical Services; Richard L. Morris, professor of quantitative methods; John E. Robbins, associate professor of marketing; Johnny Sanders Jr., professor of education (counseling and development); John M. Schmidt, associate professor of biology; and the late Han Vo, assistant professor of economics.

[Back to Previous Page]

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211