Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header


College of Business Administration Will Honor Five at Pinnacle Leadership Awards

Quick Facts

 The Pinnacle Leadership Society celebrates those individuals who through vision, determination, leadership and perseverance have shaped the community.
 This year’s honorees include F. Merritt Wilkerson, Jerry H. Padgett, Carlos E. Evans, Margaret Wicklund ’87 and Terry Grayson-Caprio ’85.

F. Merritt Wilkerson
Jerry Padgett
Carlos Evans
Margaret Wicklund
Terry Grayson-Caprio

ROCK HILL, S.C. - On April 30, Winthrop University's College of Business Administration will honor two of its distinguished alumni and three area business leaders at the Pinnacle Leadership Awards reception and banquet.

The Pinnacle Leadership Society celebrates those individuals who through vision, determination, leadership and perseverance have shaped the world in which they have operated.

“The individuals in the Pinnacle Leadership Society serve as role models for our students as they enter the workforce and find their place in this world,” said Roger Weikle, dean of the College of Business Administration.

This year’s honorees include:

F. Merritt Wilkerson, retired owner of Wilkerson Oil and former chairman of Wilkerson Fuel, for the Tower Award for Lifetime Achievement in Business. The award recognizes a lifetime of achievements in business leadership and goes to an individual who has helped shape the fiber of the community.  

Jerry H. Padgett, retired dean of the Business School at Winthrop, for the Summit Award for Lifetime Commitment to Education. The Summit Award recognizes the leadership and lifelong service of an individual who has made significant contributions to higher education. 

Carlos E. Evans of Wachovia Bank for the Advocate of the College Award. Evans heads the Eastern Commerical Banking group for the newly merged Wachovia and Wells Fargo companies. He is chairman of the Foundation and Real Estate Boards at Winthrop.

Margaret Wicklund ’87 of Lance, Inc. for the Distinguished Alumni Graduate Program Award. Wicklund, CPA is vice president and corporate controller for Lance, Inc. She graduated from Winthrop's M.B.A. program with a concentration in accounting. 

Terry Grayson-Caprio ’85 of KPMG for the Distinguished Alumni Undergraduate Program Award. Grayson-Caprio is a CPA and partner with KPMG LLP in Greenville, S.C. She is a graduate of Winthrop's undergraduate program in accounting.

Previous honorees include Bernard Ackerman, Frank Barnes Jr., Kathryn Cooper ’75, George Dunlap, William Grier Sr., Clarence Hornsby, Robert Hambright ’74, Thomas Keith ’98, Robert Moser ’75, Dennis Merrell ’75, Cece Sutton ’93 and Roy Weathers ’89.

Alumni awards recognize distinguished alumni of the College of Business Administration for their efforts in advancing the principles of the free market system with dignity and through careers marked by high ethical standards.

The business awards recognize leaders who have made significant contributions to their communities, whose values embody the core values of the college and who advance business practice and the influence of business on the quality of life in a way consistent with the mission of the college and Winthrop University.

Corporate tables and individual tickets must be purchased by April 23. For information, call Nell Walker at 803/323-2681 or e-mail

[Back to Previous Page]

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211