Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header


York County High Schools Take Top Honors at Model United Nations

Quick Facts

 Fort Mill High School took the Winthrop Cup for best all around high school.
 An awards ceremony Friday capped two days of deliberations about “Renewing the Voice of Human Rights.”

Judson Abraham of Nation Ford High in the Security Council meeting.

ROCK HILL, S.C. – Three York County high schools were awarded top honors April 3 at the 33nd annual Model United Nations at Winthrop University.

Held April 1-3 in Tillman Hall, the program involved hundreds of students representing 25 high schools from North and South Carolina. An awards ceremony Friday afternoon capped two days of deliberations over world events centered around this year’s theme of “Renewing the Voice of Human Rights.”

Fort Mill High School of Fort Mill, S.C., whose team represented Russia, took the Winthrop Cup for best all around high school. Rock Hill High School of Rock Hill, S.C., captured the Secretariat Award for contributing the most to the success of the conference. The Geoffrey Bruce Award for the delegation acting most in character of its country went to Nation Ford High School of Fort Mill, S.C, representing Venezuela. Nation Ford High also won most improved.

The Best Resolution Award was given to Marvin Ridge High School for “Consequences of Gaza-Israeli Conflict” as submitted by the Netherlands.

Top committee performers in the Legal Committee were: Mattson Smith, Russia, Fort Mill High School; Sandia Lehman, India, Rock Hill High School; and Cheyenne Turner, Bermuda, Pinewood Preparatory School.

In the Political and Security Committee, recognition was given to Hannah Foltz, Russia, Fort Mill High School; John Flanagan, South Korea, Christ Church Episcopal School; and Jacob Godwin, Cuba, Mayo High School.
For the Social and Humanitarian Committee, the outstanding representatives were: Laura Gamble, Congo, Pinewood Preparatory School; Alisha Jarwala, Syria, Cary Academy; and Hannah Griffin, USA, Northwestern High School.
With the Human Rights Council, these students were cited: Lindsey Daubenspeck, Russia, Fort Mill High School; Andrew Harris, Nigeria, South Pointe High School; and David Bennett, Malaysia, South Pointe High School.

The Security Council members recognized for their work were Judson Abraham, Venezuela, Nation Ford High School; Ross Baker, USA, Northwestern High School; and Sally Horne, India, Rock Hill High School.
For the General Assembly, honored were: Erin Gotterbarm, Zimbabwe, Airport High School; Tommy Werner, Venezuela, Nation Ford High School; and Jordan Smith, Uganda, Rock Hill High School.

Winthrop students who advised the high school students were honored for their guidance: Rachel Heidenberg, Israel; Jennifer Fleming, the Netherlands; Kayla Barber, USA; Daniel Roberts, Pakistan; Sara Fedak, New Zealand; and Corrine Owens, Congo.

Delegation photos for 2009 will be found within a week at

[Back to Previous Page]

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211