Winthrop University Home Page
Menu Header


College of Business Administration Selects Five for Pinnacle Leadership Society Induction

ROCK HILL, S.C. – Winthrop University’s College of Business Administration will induct five members into its Pinnacle Leadership Society on April 17.

During the formal reception at 6 p.m. at the Magnolia Room at Laurel Creek, university officials will recognize 2008 recipients, as well as previous honorees. Established in 1995, the society honors alumni and others who have demonstrated inspirational leadership, integrity, benevolence and sound business acumen. The 2008 recipients will be given the following awards:

* Tower Award for Lifetime Achievement in Business: Frank Barnes, Jr., chairman, Comporium Communications, Rock Hill, SC

* Summit Award for Lifetime Commitment to Education: Clarence Hornsby, retired executive from Bowater, Inc. and community leader, Rock Hill, SC

* Advocate of the College: Bernie Ackerman, CPA, Rock Hill, SC

* Distinguished Alumni Graduate Program: Cece Sutton, executive vice president and head of retail and small business banking, Wachovia Corporation, Charlotte, NC

* Distinguished Alumni Undergrad Program: Roy Weathers, CPA, chief, diversity office/partner, PricewaterhouseCoopers, New York, NY

Previous honorees for recognition include George W. Dunlap and William H. Grier, Sr. for their support in providing business scholarships to College of Business students. Alumni named to the Pinnacle Society are Robert Moser, Dennis Merrell, Kathryn Cooper, Robert Hambright and Thomas Keith.

Last year, the College of Business decided to hold an annual recognition event in the spring of each year to induct new society members. The April 17 dinner is open to the public. Tickets are $45.

For more information, contact Nell Walker, director of special projects, at 803/323-2681 or

[Back to Previous Page]

© Winthrop University · 701 Oakland Avenue · Rock Hill, SC 29733, USA · 803/323-2211